We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service not on par with price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“service not on par with price!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had recently returned from Europe, Greece and France and were getting our daughter set up in residence at U of Vic and thought we would splurge for two nights at the Oak bay beach.
The only reason I rank it as average is the spectacular view and location were outstanding but in conjunction with the service, somewhat dissapointing. For $400 a night I expect more, and after spending similar for hotels in Paris and Athens, this hotel pales in comparison to the service I recieved there.
Firstly the pool area does not have enough chairs/loungers and I aslo found out they sell day passes for non stay guests, ridiculous that a full paying room guest is trumped by a visitor to the pool. Also while dangling our feet in the hot tub having a drink were told we cannot and had to consume drink by the tables away from pool deck??
As to the room itself, very nice and had a great view from our balcony. We had set up the sofa bed for our daughter, however no pillows in room for sofa bed. Our last night there we actually had to call for bars of soap/body wash...none left in room by maid that day. It has a very large bathroom and wonderful shower, also heated bathroom floors for cooler times of the year.
They seemed short staffed and somewhat disorganized, ran out of clean glasses at Kate's cafe and also by pool. We had breakfast the last day in the dinning room, it was ok and have limited seating capacity there as well.
While not fault of hotel, more of a dumb BC law regarding under 19 year olds and not being able to eat in their bar/grill area where they serve alcohol...very strange.
Overall very nice place, excellent underground parking, just falls short of expectations based on $$$.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller13Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid comments about your recent stay with us. As a newly opened property we are still discovering how all of our facilities function throughout the seasons and constantly making the necessary changes if we fail to exceed our guest’s expectations. In the case of the outside pool passes we were not seeing great demand on the pools until much later in the summer season. After receiving your feedback, and further understanding the demand for this very desirable mineral pool experience, we have decided that we will indeed reserve this area exclusively for our hotel guests, residence owners and Boathouse Spa guests. We were indeed taken a bit by surprise by the number of non-hotel guests that visited us over the Labour Day long weekend and did find ourselves a little overwhelmed at moments. We do apologize that this resulted in us not providing you with Our Best during your stay.
We appreciate your kind comments about the property as a whole and look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit so we can provide you with a much more memorable experience.
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    162
    46
    13
    3
See reviews for
322
609
37
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the pool deck while sipping a glass of wine/beer, we watched sea otters, kingfishers', harbour seals, and baby gulls trying their wings for the very first time. OBBH staff were excellent, the drinks were cold, and the food was delicious. The view was the reason this hotel deserves all its accolades. Looking out over the convergence of Juan de Fuca and Georgia straits with Mt. Baker in the background is worth the full price of admission.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the oceanview, you will never regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank technoklutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The new OBBH is a great place to spend a few days while visiting Victoria. For relaxation the oceanfront pools and health spa are wonderful. The Snug pub is fun and Kate's Cafe is handy, but seemed understaffed when crowds were backing up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branagh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy a couple of relaxation days with us during your last visit to Victoria. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests take the opportunity to experience so many of our hotel amenities such as the Boathouse Spa & Baths, the iconic Snug Pub and Kate's Café. Our freshly baked sweets and savouries from Kate's have quickly become neighbourhood favourites making the quaint café quite busy at times. We will be sure to review our service platform to ensure our customers are provided with prompt and friendly service. We thank you for your valued feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for another tranquil getaway.
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed at a few hotels in Victoria and I have to say Oak Bay is definitely the best. Everything is very classy, from the tasteful decorations, furniture to the services provided by the staff. The property is extremely well managed. I was really surprised by how clean the outdoor pool is when I went for a swim in the morning. I've stayed in many hotels around the world, Oak Bay might be small compared to some of the well known luxury hotel chains but it definitely deserves its 5 stars. The staff there care about what they do and are proud of what they do. What more can you ask when staying at a hotel. Special thanks to Mr. Boyde Gevers, Ms. Michelle Le Sage and Ms. Thaylin Parrish for making my stay a unforgettable one. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I'd definitely return to Oak Bay Beach Hotel the next time I visit Victoria. It is indeed the best kept secret in Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstrelinhaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you go to Victoria, check out OBBH. The rooms were spacious and elegant with European style furnishings, very tasteful. It was a beautiful hotel, loved the view. We had a wonderful relaxing stay over there, will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I decided to acknowledge our wedding anniversary in August and try this completely re-built and brand new hotel in Oak Bay, a district of Victoria. We live land-locked, not seeing much ocean so to have one of the panoramic ocean view rooms as they called it, was an amazing experience.

The staff from the moment we arrived treated us like they really wanted us to be there and genuinely enjoyed what they were doing - and we encountered valet, food service and of course front desk staff. All very respectful and 'real' to us.

The Snug pub is where we chose to eat, and there are choices - the fine dining room looks intimate and beautiful and it was busy, but we are more casual folks. There was a buffet featuring curry the night we were there. My wife isn't fond of curry so chose the Snug burger which she said was excellent and full of flavor; I had the buffet and was extremely glad I did - excellent food and service from Amba was professional and friendly. We were then treated to the most spectacular 'moon-rise' we've ever seen! People were snapping photo's and all really seemed to understand the special experience we were being treated to, with the large moon rising over the ocean, nothing blocking our view......it was downright magical.

There are three outdoor hot pools which were quietly being enjoyed and we were prepared to go, however once we were back to our room and saw that the hotel had, on their own, acknowledged our anniversary (I had mentioned it in passing when I reserved I guess) with a couple of beautiful chocolate dipped strawberries and a card of happy wishes, we decided to sit on the balcony, drink some bubbly,and enjoy the moon.

Beds, linens, towels, all fluffy yet crisp at the same time - love love love the comfortable bed. Room was set up with all you need, top-class amenities and finishes, and impeccably clean.
Fireplace was a nice touch and would be romantic on a chilly night.

I can't say enough about the experience, the feeling that comes over you as you enter this hotel. It's so different, and special, and it succeeded in making us feel special that night - and it was a special occasion for us so that meant a great deal.

Well done - we'll be back - soon I hope and encourage others to experience this hotel!

Room Tip: Nothing beats the panoramic ocean view - worth a few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skippy510109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Based out of Vancouver, I typically to Victoria for personal down time a couple of times a year. Last weekend, rather than staying at my usual downtown hotel, i decided to stay at Oak Bay Beach Hotel. First, the staff and management make this place. You can see it on the faces of all the front line employees. The 24 mineral spa (and sauna access) is right along the waterfront. The bed was so comfortable, bathrooms spectacular. Next time I will be sure to book my spa services ahead of time (my mistake). I was quite surprised to see how close the hotel was to downtown. A $15 cab into downtown, shuttle transport, or 10 min scenic drive. Never had a chance to enjoy dinner, but breakfast in the room was out of this world. I will be back and talking this place up.

Room Tip: All rooms look great, also, there is so much to enjoy on the property. Totally new product (soft op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear BCMeg

We are so pleased that you made the short trip to Oak Bay to experience our Manor House by the sea.

Thank you for all your kind words and for helping us to spread the word about our Intentional Hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again real soon!

Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,702 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,607 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing