We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I can't imagine how this hotel could improve on anything. We had such a wonderful stay there! Just sad it was so short. The hotel is completely luxurious yet kid-friendly, two things which don't always go hand-in-hand.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

My sister and I booked in for a quiet weekend of catching up, shopping and to go to the spa. Our visit was amazing. The hotel has a wonderful feeling of history and yet modern elegance. The views from the decks outside the lounge and the ocean side rooms are amazing. To watch the boats sail by leisurely just makes you slow down and be present in the moment.

Our were totally pampered at the spa. Once our appointments were finished we headed for the outside deck for lunch and a swim.

The rooms were spacious and well appointed. We had dinner reservations at the restaurant on the Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Breakfast the next morning in the Snug Pub was tasty. The service prompt and attentive.

I highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Oak Bay Beach hotel is a beautiful hotel, located in a quiet oceanside residential area of Victoria. Which we chose for the location, away from downtown & the crowds of the inner harbor. Our room was spacious & clean, with a comfortable bed & large washroom.
Parking & wifi included w/room.
The grounds are lovely. Three mineral pools situated next to & overlooking the ocean - open 24 hrs. Con- quite a distance to the pool area & getting there is unclear & convoluted.
Bar is nice with lovely views from the terrace. Con- service was slow. Took a while to be greeted. Empty tables left uncleared for quite awhile. Food was average.
Loved the coffee shop & patio- was a nice way to start the day, service was good.
If you like walking,you could literaly walk from Oak Bay to the inner harbor along the oceanside pathway. Or walk to Oak Bay avenue, check out the shops, have some lunch. Cook street is another quaint area with shops & restaurants - a bit of a hike from the hotel though. A car is almost a must.
Overall, we loved the location & hotel amenities, but didn't feel the service was quite up to 5* standards. We just did not come away feeling like we were pampered & valued guests.
It was just not running like a well oiled machine -like a Fairmont or Mark Hopkins.
So we hope the service improves some & we will definitely give it another try in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itraveltherefor... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Everything from the second we pulled up to the hotel until we were dropped off to the Clipper by the complimentary driving service, was nothing less than perfect.

My husband and I booked this for our anniversary trip, and they upgraded us to a king boutique suite with glimpses of the ocean, while still keeping to the agreed summer special rate. Our room was spotless, gorgeous, and utterly private.The bed was so soft and comfortable, hubby and I slept about 13 hours straight the first night! The giant windows let in a ton of natural sunlight, yet was positioned so not a soul could peek in. The bathroom was to.die.for... double sinks, huge stone tile shower with double shower-head, a and a separate bathing tub big enough for two. This place is all about the details... it wouldn't be possible for me to describe every little thing, but there was special attention paid to things no one would even think of, such as special hinges on cabinet doors and drawers, and even the toilet seat, so they wouldn't slam.

The staff was unbelievably helpful and friendly, catering to our every need, and anticipating every wish. They even left a little plate of chocolate-covered strawberries for us with a note wishing us a very happy anniversary! There is a complimentary service to have someone drive you to anywhere, within reason, provided they are not over-booked (keep in mind, the other option would be to take a cab, at roughly $20 per trip).

We had several meals at the Snug Pub, which was excellent, as were our breakfasts in Kate's Cafe (see separate reviews for those). We also took complete advantage of the mineral pools/hot tub, and spa (again, see separate review). There is a separate walkway that you can take down to the pools/spa, so you don't have to walk through reception, or really see anyone else on your way there. And they provide robes in your room, if you prefer to walk down in them.

I really could not say enough nice things about this place! We will absolutely be back!

One last thing I'd like to add, since there doesn't seem to be a separate page to review it... the Grayline Hop On, Hop Off Tour of Victoria is excellent! It was about $25/person, and does an entire one-hour tour of the city, and also allows you to "hop off" the tour at different stops, and "hop on" again... It has added a stop right in front of the Oak Bay Beach Hotel, which is definitely a plus! Make sure to take cash to tip your driver... you'll definitely feel it's worth it by the end of the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QuirkyIntellect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful property for the BC Day long weekend. The room was gorgeous (we were upgraded to oceanview as a surprise for some problems we had with the website). The service was really good at the front desk and the car service to town was great. Victoria is only a short drive away and Oak Bay Village is a 5 minute ride. The Moss Street Farmers Market on Saturday was quaint and a nice outing for a couple hours. Aerobics on Saturday morning were also a nice add on. The three pools are excellent and the fact that they are open 24 hours is really cool when you arrive late at night. You can have a glass of wine in front of the fireplace near the lobby or go to the restaurant/pub. It's easy to get towels, ice and robes and extra toiletries if you need them. The steam room was great too. Overall an excellent hotel as far as rooms and location and grounds go.

I did have some complaints though...

--Beware that if you are 4 people in one room, you will be charged $30 for each person after two per night.

--Pool area is awesome, except it was full of screaming kids the whole weekend and very difficult to relax. Hotel should block off half the pool for kids or some other system. They market the hotel as a place to go to the spa and relax, but it is tough.

--If you want a beach chair, you have to go and put your towel on it at 8am in order to even get one. The hotel needs to figure out a better system. Some people put their towels on chairs and left for up to 4 hours without coming back.

--No outside food or drink at poolside. So, if your plan is to spend the day there, be prepared to spend an arm and a leg for the hotel's food and drinks. And don't order fries, they can't figure out a way to get them down to the pool area before they go cold. The staff don't clear away dirty plates enough either which causes there to be lots of bees flying around constantly and crows trying to swoop in and grab crumbs.

--The spa massage I got was terrible. The girl was not a good masseuse and I spent $130 on it. Felt like she was playing piano on my back. Very disappointing.

--Over all, the prices of food and drink associated with this hotel are inflated

Room Tip: The marina view or ocean view are beautiful. The beds are quite hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mexicolindo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Mexicolindo2013
Thank you again for reaching out to us. I am so pleased we had a chance to personally connect to discuss your comments more thoroughly. We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel and your constructive feedback on how we can make future stays even more enjoyable. We have made the appropriate changes to our website to ensure guests are aware of our $30 extra adult fee so that those additional guests can also enjoy the inclusive amenities such as our complimentary underground valet parking, Wi-Fi, local calls and of course the 24-hour access to our 3 seaside mineral pools, steam shower and fitness studio. We have also heeded your advice on our pool food service and are pleased to be adding some more kiosk style snacks that our guests can enjoy. Again we appreciate your feedback on your Boathouse Spa experience and can assure you a more enjoyable overall experience on your next visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After an exhausting day of traveling all over the Olympic Peninsula we took the ferry over to Vancouver Island and stayed at this great hotel for one nite. It was unbelievable. Bathrooms are to die for. Fireplace in the room and the softest bed on the planet. We live in Maryland so chances are we won't be in this area again for some time but if we do we know where we're staying. Lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stnortham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hi stayed in one of the pet friendly garden suites and had such a nice time. It was very quite and relaxing. The view was unbeatable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I stayed with my fiancé and our little dog and had a wonderful time. My only critique is that the Hallways could have used a vacuum and it took awhile to get through to too room service in the morning but were very friendly and apologetic once I got through. Will definitely be back:)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Collin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,834 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,890 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $184 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing