We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW !!!!! What a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WOW !!!!! What a place”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a wonderful And well located resort hotel, with Staff that are incredibly consumer oriented. You're made to feel Immediately pampered and well taken care of with great concern for your enjoyment And relaxation. a terrific experience and a shout out to Sarah For the upgrade, which is very kind. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernard5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    159
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
315
599
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights here with my wife. We upgraded to at sea view room and loved it. Very clean and tranquil. A nice escape from busy Victoria. Staff was courteous and accomodating. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottfreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seal beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I recently spent a week at this wonderful hotel. Not only was the view from the hotel very scenic, but every aspect of my stay was exceptional. The reception area was very warm and comfortable. The décor, cleanliness, fantastic soaking tub, impeccable service in both the restaurant and Katie's Café were outstanding. The pool was beautiful and the water was warm and very inviting. I was impressed with Sherilynn, the food server at the restaurant. She was very pleasant, gave excellent service and was very friendly. I was very impressed with the young gentlemen who drove me to the village and/or into Victoria (Shea, Michael and Joshua). They were extremely polite, provided me with information about the areas we were planning to visit and couldn't have been more professional or helpful.

Room Tip: I did not have a view of the pool from the room but was still able to enjoy the view of the Sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Not a customer care based hotel and poor location.
Too many issues to address.
Felt like a scolded child when brought to their attention at every point.
Get it together if you are going to charge the rates.
No view at out rate pointed out to us when questioned.
No water after the first night, if you set expectations at least meet them.
No shampoo or conditioner after first use.
Heated bath floor not working and not fixed during 5 nights there.
The pools are spectacular and used them to full extent.
They just really need a mature and experienced staffing program to get to the level they think they are achieving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenny1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Kenny1863

We pride ourselves on our genuine hospitality and are troubled and surprised by your review. In an effort to accommodate all of our guests' budget and comfort levels, we do offer different rate structures for our residential, marina and ocean view rooms. We make every effort to ensure our guests are informed of these rates and views through our reservations process and our follow up confirmation letters. It is our service standard to provided nightly bottled water service, and replenish in-room amenities. It is inexcusable that this was missed during your stay and for this we sincerely apologize. With our warm summer season upon us we turn off our bathroom in-floor heating and turn on our guest room air-conditioning for our guests' comfort. We extend our apologies that this information was not relayed to you during your visit. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in person about your experiences with the hopes of convincing you to return to the Oak Bay Beach Hotel for a hospitality experience that meets and exceeds your expectations.
Michelle Le Sage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to a change in accommodation from our usual "chateau style" hotel in the centre of town. In need of a change, we opted to try the newly restored "OB" Oak Bay Beach Hotel.

We were immensely surprised by the renovations, impeccable service and terrific food.

The upgrade to a harbour view room is well worth the small expense. At each visit to the lobby and restaurant, we were welcomed as family. Kudos

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeotheLion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It's just so nice, I like it a bit distant from downtown Victoria, and the room, the tub, the bed, the outdoor swimming pool and hot tub over looking the strait of Georgia, only stayed for a night with I could stay longer! And I can't believe the price for this hotel! Such a rare find!

Room Tip: maybe you can ask for a ocean facing room. Not all rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family stayed at The Hotel for a week at the end of June because we were attending a wedding there. This was an amazing place. The rooms were so clean and had big bathrooms with large tub bathrooms and showers. The restaurants there had amazing food and the service was impeccable. They had a Mercedes with a driver that took us to local destinations and the drivers were so friendly. Th location is about 15 minutes away from the Inner Harbor of Victoria but it was so quiet and peaceful. The view is amazing..they also had a pool and 2 jacuzzis that overlooked the water that were heated and those were great memories for my daughter. We definitely will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,624 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,989 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,267 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing