We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Inclusive Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Mayne Island, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All Inclusive Perfection”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

From the very moment we arrived, we were politely, professionally and quietly invited into the beautifully rebuilt Resort. Details have been impeccably thought out in advance, from room prep to the old Snug to dress code & manners, to overall presentation. Well done!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettywhite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    157
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
309
590
36
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend at Oak Bay - and we found it uneven. The property is very nice in general but the entire time we noticed a bad smell in the hallways of our floor. There was a water bottle wih some previous guests cigarette butts on the balcony off of our suite. One of the bedside lights was broken, and we had to call to request linens to make up the sofa bed.

My other gripes concern visiting the property with small children. We could tell we weren't the target demo (the property seems to be courting seniors/retirees) -- but at these prices, the hotel should be more accommodating. How about a kids menu - or just a few simple items - on the room service menu (grilled cheese, macaroni and cheese, fruit salad and yogurt). The Snug - the restaurant on the premises with the menu that would have the most kid-appeal (fish and chips, burgers) - does not admit minors. The hotel dining room feels too formal for a meal with kids. And Kate's Cafe - which is the most kid-friendly setting - has cold sandwiches, cold salads, things like meat pies and quiche - not favorites of the under-5 set. To top it off there is apparently only 1 high chair on the premises.

Now I must say the hotel tried to go all out for Easter, complete with an Easter bunny, egg hunt in the lobby, and a "kids buffet" (ah yes - there was the grilled cheese and fries) but it was oddly low to the ground and warmed by face-high piping hot heat lamps (accident waiting to happen). It is as if the staff do not have kids of their own - or any in their extended families. Odd!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lola_loveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We would like to offer you and your family our sincere apologies for not providing you with 'Our Best’ during your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback and assure you that we have attended to all the concerns outlined in your review.

As a family owned and operated hotel we do indeed want to be a place where families feel welcome and believe that our lock-off rooms and one-bedroom suites provide the perfect balance of space and privacy for small families. We are pleased to say that after reading your comments our culinary team has developed our new Ollie Bear menu that is served in both Kate’s Café and in our sunlit conservatory that we are sure will be a hit with our younger guests.

We thank you again for your comments and do hope that should you find yourself on Vancouver Island again that you give us a second chance to provide you with a first class vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

EXCELLENT array of choices for brunch. Everything I had was delicious. The service staff were great, the ambiance very appealing, and the live guitarists an extra bonus. My only complaint is that there was no wheat-free option either for the main part of the brunch nor dessert (except plentiful fruit and salads of course).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel and were very impressed. The staff was great (paying attention to privacy requests) and our servers in the restaurant and pub were top notch, as well as the food!. The location is perfect and the view of the ocean from the pool is fantastic. We wish that there was a way to get to the pools without going outside though. The room was lovely, although two of us managed to bruise our legs on the beds (don't really like the height of them). I have to say that after staying at other 5* hotels on the island and at Whistler, The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is #1 in my books. I hope that they keep up their service in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the newly rebuilt Oak Bay Beach Hotel for a weekend getaway with friends. Wow! What a location - nestled in the heart of Oak Bay looking out over the ocean. The rooms are lovely, with a soaker tub that overlooks the bedroom with the shutters open, or close the shutters for more privacy. The Snug has maintained its original ambiance and is a going concern with locals and weekend visitors alike - a great place for a nightcap, while Kate's Cafe is a good choice for a quiet latte. The spa is amazing, looking out over the hot tubs and pool area which in turn overlooks the ocean. A beautiful spot and highly recommended for a return visit!

Room Tip: The entire property is licensed - so if the pub is too crowded, just place your order and find a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenbear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous recommendation. We truly hope to welcome you back again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel for a get away with friends. This hotel has been rebuilt and extensively upgraded. The hotel rooms have very comfy beds, a fabulous bathroom with a large soaker tub, in addition to an great deal of lighting options, everything from romantic to full on brightness. The fireplace makes the rooms very cosy too. I visited the spa during my visit for a massage which was most relaxing. The beds in the massage room are heated and very comfortable. The mineral pools were a lovely interlude after the massage. After dinner we decided to meet the group at the fireplace in the lobby for desserts and after dinner drinks. The staff were most pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with. We are so pleased to hear that you had a chance to enjoy so many of our hotel amenities and services. It seems like your advice on the drinks and desserts by the fire in the Grand Lobby has been well heeded as it has since become a very sought after experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We live in the Seattle area and joined a friend who lives in Port Townsend to spend a couple of nights at this new property. We usually stay in downtown Victoria so this was a new adventure. After arriving by ferry from Port Angeles, we drove a few scenic miles to the small community of Oak Bay and the resort on the water. The hotel is luxurious and should meet anyone's standard of relaxed elegance. The location, the staff, most everything was delightful. They do need some work in the culinary area, I was unimpressed by the food, but understand that help is on the way.
Our traveling companion enjoyed the spa, and we all enjoyed the surrounding area and the small village of Oak Bay. You're next to the yacht Marina which has a nice restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. I can easily recommend the hotel for a pleasant stay, and visit the small village of Oak Bay while you're there.

Room Tip: Try for a view room above the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelGregorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are so glad that you took the opportunity to drive those scenic miles to the quaint village of Oak Bay and our new seaside resort. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our property. Yes, we are excited to announce that our new Executive Chef and his talented culinary team are showcasing new menus, and new venues, including our soon to open rooftop sushi bar and recently launched afternoon tea. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our property and having an opportunity to showcase our new culinary offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing