We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Seems they are working thru some minor glitches to be expected with a new hotel, but overall the experience was excellent. The staff all seem to take pride in working at this hotel, and were helpful in any regard. We had booked an "Oceanview" and confirmed at checkin that our room did indeed have a great view. Unfortunately, our room had a great view of a big chimney with ocean views beyond. They immediately switched us to a garden suite with unobstructed views. The suite was spacious, excellent bed/ bedding, fully functional kitchenette, and cavernous bath. The garden suite also opens to the garden and mineral pools, ideal for those with kids.

Only complaints / fixes: no movie channel / limited tv channels, cheesy electric fireplace, awkward unmarked lighting switches with chandelier that hangs down at forehead height for tall people, poor signage at hotel entrance / no sign designating Front Desk, and the porter isnt equipped with a door stop so the guest is in the awkward position of constantly holding door for the porter. I would also recommend some window application for privacy on the garden level and dining discounts for guests.

All in all, excellent hotel that checks all the boxes at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask them to specify location of room as the Oceanview rooms are quite varied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pathcontrolmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel and appreciate your gracious comments about our hotel service team. We thank you for your constructive feedback and are very pleased to report that most of the minor glitches have now been tended to and that you will find many enhancements upon a return visit. It is our pleasure to now offer four complimentary HD movie channels and a significant number of TV channels for our guest to enjoy during their stay. We are also in the process of installing the final hotel signage but were unable to do so sooner due to high winds on the ocean front; on a positive note we were able to treat our hotel guests to some amazing storm watching! We thank you again for choosing the Oak Bay Beach Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,334 - 1,340 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

When you drive into the courtyard, you stop to view this magnificant structure. After dropping off family, you find you do not have to go out on the street again but drive down to three levels of free parking. In the price of the hotel room I found there are close to $100 of amenities. Kate's cafe open from 6:00 a.m. to 9:p.m. serves home-made fare that is delicious. We experienced the Pub and the Dining room which exceeded our expectations.
The Walker Family have been able to maintain first-rate excellance in the lobby area -- yet you feel a cozyness that invites you to sit in any area for private conversation.
Upon entering our ocean-view room I found every room has a kitchenette. Top quality seren top stove, fridge, Royal Dalton dishes, coffee pot, electric kettle and even found cream and milk in fridge for my coffee. The bathroom is elegant with top quality tiles, huge shower and a tub below sliding doors which allows view of ocean or privacy if desired. Every detail was thought of including top quality magnifying glass on wall.
I've been in hotels all around the world and a spa treatment in a hotel never interested me. However, every room in the hotel has a concrete path that leads you down to the ocean where you find the Spa buildings near the mineral hot pools and the pool -- graced by the sound of the waves.....
Our party enjoyed the works. The staff were calm, friendly and professional. I have never enjoyed a facial so much and was positive their "Better Than Botex - look 10 years younger" really worked.....
While at the pools, the highlight for me was seeing two bald eagles swoop down so close to us -- it was as if they were doing a show. They kept circling overhead until they both stopped on a rail near the gazebo to gaze at the ocean. I have never seen bald eagles that close.
I can't wait to return to the hotel in spring.

Room Tip: I was able to view a few rooms. In my estimation even a room without an ocean view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your comments of your recent visit to The Oak Bay Beach Hotel. It is our pleasure to offer the complimentary amenities such a parking, valet, local calls, movie channel and turn-down service as part of our guests’ inclusive stay. It is our Manor House philosophy that allows guests to truly feel that the hotel is their home away from home during their time with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to partake in so many of the Oak Bay Beach Hotel experiences and especially pleased that our resident bald eagles graced you with one of their spectacular shows! We look forward to seeing, and pampering you, upon your return this spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Staff were fantastic. The have done a good job with keeping the charm with the new construction (make sure that the design team pick up on the small construction deficiencies). Next time, we will stay longer to enjoy the other amenities. They will need to work on the food and beverage department. Front desk staff, at check in, should tell you that you should make a reservation for breakfast if you are wanting the dining room or conservatory. I can't imagine having high tea in the conservatory with tiny tables. Breakfast was at least an hour an a half between getting he right info from F an B staff and being brought our meal. We had to be let into our room as it was just a little over noon when we got back upstairs. Cheralynn did make the wait as pleasant as it could be. Thank you also to Quentin. We are looking forward to seeing the final transformation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We are so happy to hear we are your new favourite hotel in Victoria! Thank you so much for your feedback on your dining experience, high tea and room keys. This type of communication is vital to us as it helps us to make the appropriate changes to ensure that on your next visit we not only meet, but exceed, your expectations. We are especially pleased to hear that our service team made your stay so enjoyable. We too look forward to welcoming you back so you can fully experience all of the amenities at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We just spent an absolutely wonderful day/night at the new Oak Bay Beach Hotel. We started with delicious coffee in cozy Kate's cafe, then experienced incredible facials, massage & manicure treatments at the Boat House Spa. Even on a cloudy December day, it was lovely to sit in the hot pool by the ocean! The staff and management team are exceptionally welcoming and helpful, making our experience really awesome! Our ocean front suite looked over beautiful gardens. The sitting area by the fireplace was a great spot to enjoy champagne with our friends before dinner. We enjoyed the Dinner Theatre, sipped wine in the Great Room by the fire, and enjoyed scotch and deep fried pickles in the pub. All of it was so fun! I highly recommend the OBBH and the many events happening there for an awesome experience beyond just a hotel room!

Room Tip: Room 224 was quiet, has an ocean view from the bath and the sitting area looks over the ocean. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1littleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We are so pleased to hear of your wonderful Oak Bay Beach Hotel experience and are so glad you were able to take advantage of our full complement of facilities and services. Thank you for your very kind words about our management and staff; it truly is our goal to provide lifelong memories for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just stayed at this beautiful hotel in a 1 bedroom suite with wonderful views. The bathroom was gorgeous, the living room so relaxing and the bed so comfortable. Even with the hotel being brand new and just opening, the staff were terrific and very helpful. We had a great dinner in the Snug (brought back memories of old) and a lovely breakfast in Kate's coffee & bistro. You will love Kate's- stop in for lunch or coffee and soak it up. Speaking of soaking, we didn't want to leave the warm mineral pools,set right at the ocean's edge- all part of our room price! It was wonderful to swim in a chlorine free pool. This hotel has amazing detail, class and quality - you won't want to miss out on the experience in delightful Oak Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and our staff. After 6 years in the making it is music to our ears to hear that our travellers are indeed enjoying our new property and its many amenities. We are really pleased you enjoyed our signature Simmons Oak Bay Beach Dream Bed and our Oceanfront Hot Mineral Pools. We do hope we will continue to be your home away from home whenever you are travelling in the Victoria area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a chance this past weekend to visit the new Oak Bay Beach Hotel. This is truly a spectacular property, a boutique oceanfront hotel in Victoria’s most exclusive residential community of Oak Bay.

We stayed in an oceanfront suite and had a panoramic view of the gardens, mineral pools, and the ocean. A spa and fitness facility compliment the seaside pools. In December a seaside mineral pool is great! Our suite was well appointed with all the necessary features and amenities.

On the eating and drinking front the English pub, the Snug, has loads of personality and good food. The breakfast in the dining room was excellent.

The hotel has just opened and while they are working on some of the final finishing details the service, staff commitment and relaxing visit was not compromised. We highly recommend the hotel with its unparalled location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us in our newly opened hotel. We are so pleased you were able to experience, and enjoy, all that the Oak Bay Beach Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back and showing off all those finishing touches!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just reopened after a major rebuild.
We were the first people to stay in our wonderful ocean view room.
The rooms are very well thought out with a luxurious spa bathroom and a fireplace at the end of the bed. We felt pampered :) The hot mineral pools at the edge of the ocean were incredible!
The food is absolutely amazing! The owners and staff are very friendly. We had a greeting and smile from everyone we met. They all were genuinely happy to have us there.
Well worth staying! Don't forget to try out the pub.....even if you don't drink the food and view are worth the stop.
On the map it looks to be out of town but it is just a 10 minute drive. Take the Oceanside route, it's worth the extra time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank capelazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for being one of our first guests as we re-opened the New Oak Bay Beach Hotel to the world. We are so pleased to hear that you felt pampered and that our genuine hospitality shone through. Thank you for taking that extra 10 minutes to experience the beauty of Oak Bay and its surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,095 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,174 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 46 in Victoria
1,488 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#12 of 46 in Victoria
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $187 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing