We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Motel
Nearby Hotels
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$292
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$343
$192
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$260
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$340
$306
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
$375
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$271
$243
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Embassy Inn(Victoria)
$199
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
62
38
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
38
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsogden pointdallas roadolympic mountainsjames bayvictoria's secretretro stylefisherman's wharfbeacon hill parkthird floorpots and pansshort walkview of the waterbed was very comfortableinner harborlocation is greatclean roomsno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 107 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Good value motel right on Dallas road - seriously, what a view!
Large rooms, comfy beds. Senior's rates! Kitchenettes. Drift back to the early 60's......
Very friendly helpful staff.
Downside: bit noisy being on a main thoroughfare. Also, walls are pretty thin.

Room Tip: Top floor end rooms are great but have poor wifi connectivity.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennymasae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the years, and I always look forward to it. The rooms are absolutely spotless, and of course the view is stunning. Though it's very pleasant to stay in the summer when the weather is fine, the off season is really my favourite. During our recent stay, we awoke one morning to thick fog roiling outside our window and the sound of foghorns out in the strait. It's wonderful to be able to keep an eye on the ocean at all times and be so close to some of the beautiful seaside walking paths Victoria offers.The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and quite spacious, complete with a glamorous pink bathroom. Staff are lovely and unfailingly helpful. True enough, the bus does go by the front of the hotel and it is a few minutes' walk to downtown, but if you love the ocean and value a small, old-style motel, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Room 307 is really special - on the end of the building, top floor.
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights on the top floor corner right near the motel sign in a big room with a kingsize bed, a kitchenette with everything we could want to prepare a meal. The bathroom still has it's pink and black tiles but was spotless along with everything else. Yes, Dallas Rd is noisy with cars and buses, yes the windows and sliding doors probably need replacing but sit out on the balcony with a cold beer on a warm evening and you will forget all about those things. It's all about the location! We loved walking around James Bay, also easy walk into town and a supermarket. We walked the breakwater every morning and evening. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We had been on the road for 6 weeks and it was a very pleasant place to relax and unwind before the long flight home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maudie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I really can't improve on the lengthy, detailed and enthusiastic review by Foodyguru. My girlfriend and I stayed here for "one night" after an Alaskan cruise. We liked it so much we stayed 3 nights and would have stayed longer, but we were already on day 32 of a 36 day road trip and needed to get back to So. Cal. Yes, a little dated, but the staff, especially Riley, are so helpful and the place has everything you need, including a kitchenette with stove. If you must have a microwave, however, you need to bring your own!

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view!!!! But the corner room is exceptional.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latergatorSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The one big thing this place has is location, location, location. You have a wonderful view of the Olympic mountains across the strait, the cruise ships coming and going and the upgraded breakwater.

The staff was helpful and friendly.

The rooms were comfortable but need some updating. It is time for new balcony windows/doors. It is time to redo the bathrooms and get some new furniture in the guest rooms.

Be prepared for a steady flow of traffic until about 10:00 p.m as Dallas Rd. is a major tourist roadway. The hotel can not do anything about that...just go with the flow folks.

Would we stay there again...more than likely.

Room Tip: rooms in the main building all face south for water views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 534DouglasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews