We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bard & Banker

Bard & Banker
Reserve with OpenTable
Bard & Banker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,181 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fort St
Description: Once a bank in the 1800's, this building is now one of the most beautiful pubs in the heart of Victoria, BC. Families are welcome until 9pm. Happy hour daily from 3-6pm and live music 7 nights a week. Perfect space for large parties or an intimate evening for two. We invite you to come enjoy our large selection of craft beer, delicious food, and local musicians in this one of a kind historical pub!
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Bard and Banker is NOT a Scottish Pub. It's just a misnamed Irish pub. Slow service and over priced. Not worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    462
    105
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesley, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Potato chip fish is awewome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Last night my wife and I ate at the Bard & Banker. Based on some other reviews we decided on the potato chip fish and chips. The fish was excellent- cooked to perfection with absolutely no greasy taste. The service was great and the atmosphere is definitely very unique and inviting. If we are ever back in Victoria again, this is the first place we will go. Thanks Mike!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1957Whistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went here for dinner when down in Victoria but our meals were just OK, seems that the level for food has dropped just a bit. You are paying more and should get more than just regular pub fare. Drinks list is still great but again, you are paying downtown prices and get get a better bang for your buck without going to far. Still the inside is comfortable and staff is good, but maybe we will wait awhile before trying the Bard again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Do you get what you pay for?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've been to this place many times for drinks and dinner with friends - it's my go to venue: central location, we are well accomodated, staff are great, food and drink are fine, but the recurring complaint for this choice of venue is the price (I organize the event so I get the complaint).

And it's true, this place is a higher tab at the end of the evening than other places. The question is, is it worth it? For me, it is, but I've had enough people decline the invitation saying the cost is too much that I've had to make another choice.

I like it, I'm willing to pay for it - it's an individual threshold.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Siralec57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had a nice meal but I asked for mayonnaise and then found that I had been charged for it, the people I was with didn't have to pay for their tomato sauce!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiahurlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bard & Banker also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Bard & Banker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing