We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot for a casual lunch or dinner”
Review of Ross Bay Pub

Ross Bay Pub
Ranked #216 of 1,193 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Fairfield
Victoria
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great spot for a casual lunch or dinner”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had lunch with my son and sister here last weekend, on the recommendation of a friend. Both of them had burgers and said they were excellent, as were the fries. There were a number of different types of burgers on the menu and they all sounded delicious and creative. I had a shrimp salad which was delicious, shrimp was perfectly cooked and the salad was lovely and fresh and loaded with veggies and not skimpy at all as many restaurant salads are!

There is an outdoor patio but it was a little cool so we didn't sit outside. Service was very quick, informative, and unobtrusive, just how I like it. It is a pub with TVs mounted on some of the walls, so not a good choice for fine dining. Prices were in line with other lunch spots. This is a great place for a quick bite. I was totally pleasantly surprised by the variety on the menu. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    41
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Always good food and service!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A place we often stop for a casual meal and drink when in Victoria. Food is consistently good and service excellent. Really what a neighbourhood pub should feel like...comfortable, friendly and good pub food! The burgers are great and fries delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brookebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our innkeeper gave directions to this place and since it was walking distance and we were hungry we opted for it. A pub in a strip mall didn't allow for any expectation beyond a good burger or fish and chips. Big surprise!! Fairfield and Cobb salads were amazing- unexpected ingredients and dressing sent them over the top. Try this place!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bkr198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is near where our son lives and one of his favcorite eaters in VIctoria. Three of us ordered different meals, we were all very happy with them. Curry chicken.....lots of chicken, stuff yorkshire, enough for 2!! excellent tender beef, Burger.....can't go wrong with any of them. Service was good on a busy friday evening, great ob tap beer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our "local" - great staff, good food, variety of beer on tap”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We go here all the time. I'm big on the ham & three cheese sammy with fries, chicken curry and rotating specials; Thursday night's fish (cod) and chips is a great portion for $10.95. Limited vegetarian selection, but the veggie burger, mac & multiple cheeses and bruschetta are all quite tasty. Good variety of local, hoppy microbrews on tap as well as the usual Blue/Canadian/Coors Lite - plus Carlsberg! If Gabe is on at the bar (the thin guy), he makes the best Bloody Mary in town - go for it. Lots of TVs for watching sports, but not a loud "sports bar." Atmoshphere-wise, it is a reno'd White Spot so not exactly your English pub experience - I'd hit the new Oak Bay Beach Hotel for that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ross Bay Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ross Bay Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing