We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "local" - great staff, good food, variety of beer on tap”
Review of Ross Bay Pub

Ross Bay Pub
Ranked #226 of 1,204 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Fairfield
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our "local" - great staff, good food, variety of beer on tap”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We go here all the time. I'm big on the ham & three cheese sammy with fries, chicken curry and rotating specials; Thursday night's fish (cod) and chips is a great portion for $10.95. Limited vegetarian selection, but the veggie burger, mac & multiple cheeses and bruschetta are all quite tasty. Good variety of local, hoppy microbrews on tap as well as the usual Blue/Canadian/Coors Lite - plus Carlsberg! If Gabe is on at the bar (the thin guy), he makes the best Bloody Mary in town - go for it. Lots of TVs for watching sports, but not a loud "sports bar." Atmoshphere-wise, it is a reno'd White Spot so not exactly your English pub experience - I'd hit the new Oak Bay Beach Hotel for that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    47
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Beer Selection , Poor Food”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been coming here 4-6 times a year since they have opened .
They have a great beer selection on tap and great bartenders .
The food here has been an issue with myself and my friends and we will not dine here at all any more .
It is a microwave kitchen at its best .
Nice staff but the food is ... well lets just leave it at that

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Staff - Service - Food - Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have wanted to try this pub out for a long time and luckily I have a good friend who lives in the area so have a great reason to make this pub a regular thing. Have been here twice recently and enjoyed each visit.

First time was on a Wednesday and the place was quite busy because its "Wing Night" where the wings are $5 for a pound and approximately 6 different flavours. Second visit was on a Saturday and we ordered the wings again for the regular price ($12) and we really enjoyed them. Tried the Prairie Girl style - hope I got that name right. Will def go back for those again. They had a nice crunchy texture not saucy.

Our waitress was exceptional. Very attentive, efficient, patient with our inquiries, helped us select our wine and beer and provided fast service....

Only complaint was the music during our 2nd visit was hard rock (punk) The angry screamy type.

Unfortunately we had made other plans for the evening and the place was starting to fill up for the Music Bingo when we left. For sure will be coming back here on a Saturday to try out some other menu items and stay for the Music Bingo and drinks. This pub has specials every day of the week and is sports oriented with several TVs throughout but it doesn't detract from the comfortable feel. I wish it was in my neighbourhood!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoriabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best surprise of our trip!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Victoria is a great walking town, but one day we overdid it and found ourselves way too far out into the neighborhoods with no sign of a place to stop and rest. A friendly lady walking her dog directed us to a little strip mall a few blocks away where we found the only place to eat was a nondescript pub. When we went in it was clear that this was the neighborhood bar "where everybody knows your name". In fact, the bars tools had names painted on them. In the middle of the afternoon the patrons were chatting across tables. A very friendly atmosphere. We were happy to be there, but the best part was yet to come. The food! We expected bar food but what we got went well beyond that. It not only tasted delicious, it was lovely to look at. Elegant Cobb salad and wonderfully well seasoned calamari. One of our best meals in Victoria and well worth the long walk. After our pints we did take a taxi back to the hotel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, good food, and great service”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

While on our honeymoon in Victoria, we visiting Ross Bay Pub our first night as a recommendation from our B&B staff. We loved it so much we went back again. Our waitress was Courtney on both occassions and she was awesome. She remembered us on the second visit, what we drank and that we were on our honeymoon. She went out of her way to make us feel welcomed and special. The second night we were there was a Saturday night and they had music bingo, which was a blast. The whole atmosphere was awesome and the food was delicious!!! Hope we can make it back to Victoria again and we'll definitely visit Ross Bay Pub

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ross Bay Pub also viewed

Langford, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ross Bay Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing