We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough trip but lots of Whales”

SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.83*
and up
Victoria Whale Watch Tour
More Info
$91.83*
and up
Victoria Whale Watching Tour by Zodiac
More Info
$88.46*
and up
Marine Wildlife Tour by Zodiac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: WHALE WATCH with SpringTide on the 84 passenger, 61-foot Marauder. Experience the joy, excitement and wonderful memories of our mammals, whales, porpoise, seals and marine birds! Enjoy complimentary beverages while listening to professional biologists provide informative narrations. Or, join an exhilarating excursion onboard one of our high-speed, open Zodiacs.SPORTFISH year round for Salmon & Halibut on SpringTide’s 42’ Sporfisher.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rough trip but lots of Whales”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went on a 2pm trip on July 10th. There was a wind gust warning on that day so we were recommended to change from Zodiac to a covered boat. It turned out a good idea as the trip back to Victoria Harbour was pretty rough because of the strong winds. That being said we did sight a lot of whales, both the resident and transient pods, amazing.... SpringTide staff and crew have been super kind and knowledegable. No complaints at all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OrangeTabby7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-SpringTide, Front Office Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We always try to create the best experience possible for our guests. Occasionally we recommend a different time or vessel, and it’s great to hear you were happy with our suggestion. And, it sounds as if you had a better experience because of it! We are not too surprised though ~ the Marauder IV is one of the largest whale watching boats in Victoria and her design makes her the most stable and comfortable boat when the winds come up. We are so happy you were able to join us to view our local magnificent Killer Whales. We hope the rest of your journeys are packed with excitement and maybe we’ll see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
The SpringTide Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    67
    20
    7
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

we went out on the "covered vessel" this afternoon and had a great time. The staff are awesome and really knowledgeable. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank macy_dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-SpringTide, Front Office Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Macy_dj,
Thank you so much for your review and thank you for sharing your awesome picture of the Killer Whale Spyhop. We were so lucky to see the L22's (a sub pod of our largest resident group L Pod) breaching and spyhopping. I still can't believe you captured such an awesome moment. I am working in the industry 5 years now and I am still trying to get that "perfect" shot!
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we do hope you will join us again the next time you are in Victoria.
Warm Regards,
Fiona Fogarty
Naturalist/Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Saw absolutely nothing”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were docked in Victoria at night so this was a evening ride. We saw absolutely nothing - no whales, seals, etc. we paid a lot of money for four adult tickets for not seeing anything. Maybe it was the time of year we went? Disappointing

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Immaculatelawns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-SpringTide, Owner at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We're sorry to hear that your whale watching experience with SpringTide was anything less than you had hoped or imagined it would be! At SpringTide we take pride in offering our guests the best possible experience and we appreciate any feedback you can give us. Unfortunately, while we understand that it can be disappointing not to see whales while out on the water, as wild animals, it is impossible to guarantee sightings.

For those trips that do not see whales during the high season (May to Sept), we do encourage guests to contact our reservation agents to arrange a "no-whale repeat trip". We are pleased to offer a second, complimentary trip on a stand by basis for those who did not see whales.
We invite you to get in contact with us, either by phone at 250-384-4444 or by email; Joanne@SpringTideCharters.com and we will be happy to help.

Thank you for joining us and we hope to see you in Victoria again sometime soon.

Sincerely,

Joanne Kukat
Co Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not one whale”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We saw not a single whale, and we didn't care one little bit. Well, maybe a little bit, but it's not like the whales are under contract to make an appearance.

We were looking for a larger boat for a whale watching trip, rather than the seemingly popular Zodiacs, since we were traveling with my elderly mother who has mobility limitations. From check-in to disembarkation, the staff and crew were helpful, informative, and pleasant. Their 61 foot boat, the Marauder IV, is perfectly suitable for traveling with someone with limited mobility. Mom, who walks with a walker, was able to move around the rear of the boat with assistance. It was a reasonably calm day on the water, so I can't say that it would be as smooth during rougher weather.

SpringTide offers little things like gloves and jackets to help keep people dry and warm, and also has carafes filled with hot chocolate and coffee to warm up the insides.

The only problem we experienced was that the marine biologist who was telling us about the various creatures and landmarks we came across was very difficult to hear at times. If we were inside the cabin itself, it wasn't an issue. But really, who wants to spend their entire whale watching trip inside the boat? Whether equipping the boat with more speakers would help, I don't know. Certainly, cruising over the ocean is a noisy affair, and I wouldn't want to be completing with the environmental noise either. Perhaps offering a wireless device to the patrons, especially to older folks or those with diminished hearing, would ease this minor issue.

As I say, we didn't see one whale. Being a prairie boy, I was more interested in just going for a boat ride anyway. That said, the good folks at SpringTide told us that if we didn't see any whales, then we could return for a free second excursion (subject to some conditions, such as only going stand-by, and having to do it within one year). I think that's very reasonable of them, given that they don't really have any control over whether the whales actually get their lazy blowholes out of the water so we can gawk at them for a few seconds.

TLDR: Great service, great folks, fun ride, and excellent value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-SpringTide, Front Office Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Johnnyincowtown,

You have a very interesting idea about using headsets! Onboard acoustics have not been mentioned as a concern in the past, and we just hadn't thought about it. But your suggestion is really great, and we will be looking into how best to provide this option for our guests – thank you!

You may not have noticed, we do have speakers outside , but as you said it can be difficult to hear the informative mammal talk when the boat is on the move. (This is why we encourage people to sit inside if they are interested in listening). We don't place speakers on all outside decks as we have found that there are always folks who really prefer the natural sounds of the marine environment to our presentations :)

I am so happy your mother was able to experience and enjoy the tour with her reduced mobility. We are lucky with the Marauder IV that she is big enough to accommodate all ages and stages of passengers yet small enough to really enjoy wildlife encounters!

Thanks again for your fantastic feedback. Next time you visit Victoria we would be delighted to have you join us on another tour. Hopefully next time you will be impressed once again and experience awesome viewings of our local Killer Whales.

Warm Regards,
Fiona Fogarty
Naturalist/Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, knowledgeable, friendly, and fun!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The crew were just fantastic, helpful, friendly, they took us up very close to whales, seals, birds, and explained about the wildlife as we went. I would definitely recommend this charter to anyone interested in this sort of trip. Well worth the money for an amazing morning with the whales!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JessTotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-SpringTide, Front Office Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jess,
Thank you for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the wonderful feedback. At SpringTide, we aim to please. Our crew are fully trained Marine Naturalists and Biologists and are so passionate about their jobs that it really shows out there on the water. We strive to provide educational, fun Whale and Wildlife tours with memories to last a lifetime..... and it sounds like that's exactly the type of tour you experienced.
We hope the rest of your experience in Victoria was just as good.
Thank you for joining us.
Kind Regards,
The SpringTide Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing