We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B ever stayed at.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best B&B ever stayed at.”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

On our short trip we stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage B&B in Victoria for a couple of day's. Having worked in the Food and Beverage industry for close to 50 years, I am well qualified to write a review.
The owner of the B&B; Vanessa von Schellwitz has a very charming personality. Most chef's could learn quite a bit from her. The breakfast spree that she puts on is out of this world and can compete with any 5 star hotel . Vanessa does all her own cooking.
Jams, lotions, soaps and bath salts are all made by her.
As a professional chef I have never seen such an exquisite Buffet breakfast . There are Smoked salmon omelettes, more egg varieties, then you can think off, Apple struddel out of this world. Excellent coffee , freshly squeezed juices. A variety of items you would only find in a 5 star resort.
From the moment we set foot at the lodging we felt at home.
The B&B is located downtown on a scenic side road close to the harbour and close to the center of all the site seeing.
Because all her guests are either by repeat or by word of mouth , it is advisable to make a reservation very early on, as otherwise you will never have the chance of tasting her wonderful food and hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
30
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Don't want to stress any more on the food as it's been written widely out here - it was simply tough not to overeat and I lost the battle for three straight days. Since Vanessa was busy in the kitchen, Dean's humor was unique and overall a great guy to chat with - wish I could spend more time with him. Vanessa is good with drawing up maps to wherever you want to go and very helpful. Most people head downtown but only 3 minutes from their home is the water so make sure you spend some time there as well. Internet access that's very imp to me was top notch. Can't think of anything else - have fun staying here

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rajtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Hostess Vanessa is very welcoming and helpful. You might describe the B&B as Austro-Victorian! Vanessa and husband Dean have filled the house with an eclectic collection of objects from across the world, and the dining room is a bit of a cross between a curio shop and your great-aunt’s “parlour”. Lots of original Victorian features, though not all in perfect working order!
Well-placed for the downtown area – about a 10-minute walk to the Empress Hotel. Our tips for Victoria: the Museum (don’t leave it till 4:10 like us, as it closes at the ludicrous hour of 5!) and surprisingly Craigdarroch Castle, which sounds really naff, but is actually very attractive inside. We’d also recommend both Earl’s restaurant (I think this is a chain) and the Canoe Bar.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P_n_R_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My husband and i stayed at the gingerbread house on september 22 of 2009, our wedding day as well and we couldnt have asked for a more beautiful, relaxing, private stay, we used the lavender room stunning, so much history, vanessa (sorry bout the spelling) took our picture as we arrived dress and tux, after getting all checked in had she had awesome recommandation to elagant resturant to suite our occasion, just lovely experiance, Out of this world breakfests, there was so much food!!! needless to say she just made a memory for us that we will never forget, and as long as shes open we will be spending our up coming and future annversries at the gingerbread cottage, thank you so much for the great experiance you made our day super specail see you in september!!! Danya and andre Davidson,

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danyaandandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Vanessa and Dean are really what make the Gingerbread Cottage B & B a lovely place to stay. The rooms are intimate and cosy, Vanessa and Dean are more than accommodating and so very down to earth and sincere people.
We never heard any noise from any of the other guests. Butler the cat greets you in the morning as do the birds when you come down for breakfast.
Breakfast was absolutely spectacular - a testimonial to Vanessa that she even WANTS to do this for strangers. My mouth is still watering.
Loved our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentinateeshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Dean and Vanessa, the Owners of Gingerbread Cottage provided a wonderful introduction to a part of the world I had not experienced before. The rooms were confortable and tastefully done in Viennese decor (. you could swear you were in an exhibit of the Neue Gallery in New York City) and gourmet meals were served every morning according to guest specifications. At times Vanessa would even voluntarily pack a lunch when I went on day excursions.

They provided a confortable atmosphere and were willing to give detailed explanations of what was interesting to see and how to get there. The Gingerbread was located within walking distance from all the major tourist attractions , restaurants, theaters and music venues in downtown VIctoria, and they were very informative about how to use public transportation and ferries when I went to Buchert Gardens, Vancouver and the Gulf Islands. When I needed a car, street parking was easily available free of charge in front of the Gingerbread.

Overall, I would give the B and B an stellar reccomendation for anyone from the East Coast (or any other Coast) who wishes to stay in Vctoria, BC.

Michael Witt
White Plains, NY

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwitt18987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage for three nights. Had a great time in Victoria...it's really close to all of the main attractions and Dean and Vanessa are well-informed. The night we go in, Dean directed us to the IMAX to see Star Trek, a super hit with our teenage sons. Breakfast couldn't have been better! Homemade granola and jam, fresh fruit, hot biscuits/ scones. Made to order breakfasts included Austrian Apricot Dumplings, 4 versions of Eggs Benedict with potato latkes, crepes, a variety of omelets. I have stayed in B&B's around the world and this was the very BEST!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1occasional_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
John Lewis House B&B
John Lewis House B&B
#12 of 93 in Victoria
140 reviews
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menzies Manor
#15 of 93 in Victoria
46 reviews
James Bay
Heathergate House B&B
Heathergate House B&B
#19 of 93 in Victoria
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2A7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salzburg chef Vanessa von Schellwitz welcomes you to her Gingerbread Cottage,a quiet and well zoned 1905 Heritage home which is an easy walk from US ferries, downtown and all attractions in Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, 1/2 block from ocean. Take the airporter to and from our door if you are arriving at YYJ. Our reasonable prices include Gourmet 4 course breakfast, cute 1905 rooms with roof gardens. Breakfasts are very stylishly set with Antique Victorian Silver. Vanessa prepares delicious specialties like lox or garden omlettes, berry crepes and fresh Austrian Apple Strudel. Good value, quiet and great location 1/2 block from Victoria's famous Dallas Road ocean promenade, Ogden Point cruise ship docks, and Breakwater structure. Book early as we tend to fill our rooms very fast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing