We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B and B with Great service, accomodating hosts in an excellent location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
White Plains, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B and B with Great service, accomodating hosts in an excellent location”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Dean and Vanessa, the Owners of Gingerbread Cottage provided a wonderful introduction to a part of the world I had not experienced before. The rooms were confortable and tastefully done in Viennese decor (. you could swear you were in an exhibit of the Neue Gallery in New York City) and gourmet meals were served every morning according to guest specifications. At times Vanessa would even voluntarily pack a lunch when I went on day excursions.

They provided a confortable atmosphere and were willing to give detailed explanations of what was interesting to see and how to get there. The Gingerbread was located within walking distance from all the major tourist attractions , restaurants, theaters and music venues in downtown VIctoria, and they were very informative about how to use public transportation and ferries when I went to Buchert Gardens, Vancouver and the Gulf Islands. When I needed a car, street parking was easily available free of charge in front of the Gingerbread.

Overall, I would give the B and B an stellar reccomendation for anyone from the East Coast (or any other Coast) who wishes to stay in Vctoria, BC.

Michael Witt
White Plains, NY

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwitt18987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage for three nights. Had a great time in Victoria...it's really close to all of the main attractions and Dean and Vanessa are well-informed. The night we go in, Dean directed us to the IMAX to see Star Trek, a super hit with our teenage sons. Breakfast couldn't have been better! Homemade granola and jam, fresh fruit, hot biscuits/ scones. Made to order breakfasts included Austrian Apricot Dumplings, 4 versions of Eggs Benedict with potato latkes, crepes, a variety of omelets. I have stayed in B&B's around the world and this was the very BEST!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1occasional_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Visiting the Gingerbread Cottage was the best thing my boyfriend and I did on our Canadian vacation. We had no idea we were going to be transported to a Victorian wonderland. Our room was beautifully decorated with works from Gustav Klimt. Our private bathroom was similarly decorated and included homemade soaps, shampoos, and the best lotion I have ever tried. Breakfast alone was worth the rate of the room and included fresh apple strudel out of the oven, omelets, homemade granola, along side vegetables and herbs from the garden. The owner happens to be a world renowned chef.
Visiting the Gingerbread Cottage was like visiting friends I had not met yet. We ended up changing our trip itinerary so that we could stay longer. Victoria was worth the extra time! While taking a walk along the ocean near the Cottage, we saw a pod of whales and followed them for a least half an hour. I would recommend the Gingerbread Cottage to anyone seeking a treasure of an experience!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dhyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We love the Gingerbread Cottage. Having stayed at a number of hotels and B&B's, I've got to say that this is my favorite one of them all. And it's really the great environment that Vanessa and Dean have put together here that makes the Gingerbread Cottage so great.

You can walk to tons of places here, or just linger in your room and relax. However, the best thing of all at the Gingerbread Cottage is the breakfast here - it's absolutely incredible. Fresh ingredients, expert cooking and terrific hospitality probably qualifies the Gingerbread Cottage for best B&B breakfast ever.

Anyway, the Gingerbread Cottage is the best, and if you're staying here - you're a very lucky person indeed.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdvizahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed again at our favourite "B & B" in Victoria - 3 lovely days. Vanessa was there to greet us and a pot of coffee was put on. We stayed again in the Lavender Room that has a huge deck with an umbrella, table and chairs. The location on Oswego St. is quiet and at the same time, within walking distance of the Parliament Buildings, Royal B.C. Museum, Empress Hotel, Inner Harbour and Government shopping. The breakfasts are fit for a Kaiser and the company is always engaging. We have stayed at Gingerbread Cottage four times now and will definitely choose Vanessa's again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

My wife and I stay at the Gingerbread Bed & Breakfast at least twice a year. It is very centrally located just behind the parliament buildings and within walking distance of the downtown core of the city. Usually we bike over from Vancouver via the Galloping Goose Trail from the ferry in Swartz bay (about 30 km to the B&B) which makes for a wonderful day ride. Vanessa and Dean's hospitality is second to none and I guarantee that you will not get a better gourmet breakfast anywhere else. The bed and breakfast has a wonderful old world European charm; it's chalk full of antiques and antique decor. I highly recommend the Gingerbread Cottage to anyone visiting Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BnB_Connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We recently stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage in Victoria and loved it! We were only there for one night but wish we could have stayed longer. The house is very cute- we stayed in the Mozart room which was nice and clean.

Breakfast was amazing! Vanessa was so accommodating and prepared breakfast early for us so we could get on the road before 9 am. She also took food allergies into consideration and prepared a spectacular shrimp omelette. Other choices included green eggs and ham and strawberry dumplings. The Gingerbread Cottage is a great choice for those on a budget- clean and affordable. The location is good as well- we were able to walk to town in about 20 minutes.

  • Liked — Great breakfast, good location, affordable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jerseycitygirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#4 of 92 in Victoria
271 reviews
Menzies Manor
#16 of 92 in Victoria
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2A7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salzburg chef Vanessa von Schellwitz welcomes you to her Gingerbread Cottage,a quiet and well zoned 1905 Heritage home which is an easy walk from US ferries, downtown and all attractions in Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, 1/2 block from ocean. Take the airporter to and from our door if you are arriving at YYJ. Our reasonable prices include Gourmet 4 course breakfast, cute 1905 rooms with roof gardens. Breakfasts are very stylishly set with Antique Victorian Silver. Vanessa prepares delicious specialties like lox or garden omlettes, berry crepes and fresh Austrian Apple Strudel. Good value, quiet and great location 1/2 block from Victoria's famous Dallas Road ocean promenade, Ogden Point cruise ship docks, and Breakwater structure. Book early as we tend to fill our rooms very fast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing