We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best breakfasts I have ever had”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best breakfasts I have ever had”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Gingerbread ottage. The location was great, walking distance to everything in Victoria. A very attractive room with a private outdoor patio.

The breakfast was outstanding. The onwer is a gourmet chef. I had a smoked salmon omelet, homemade bread and strudels and fresh fruit for dessert. I was so full I skipped lunch, even though we spent the day walking around Victoria.

I would definitely stay again. It was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Langley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I were at Gingerbread Cottage in Dec. 2011 to visit family in Victoria.. We enjoyed the best breakfast we have ever had in a B and B. Location was great for walks on the cliffs above the beaches. The collection of antiques were a little overwhelming for me. A few less would work better for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage in August 2011 and enjoyed the experience so much that we returned again late October 2011 simply to have a repeat! After looking at the numerous glowing reviews, we would endorse virtually all the positive comments. Worth also noting that most of the amazing breakfast foods are not only freshly prepared/baked, but also contain organic and/or locally sourced foods.
We have certainly found Vanessa & Dean hospitable hosts and have no hesitation in recommending their B & B to those people looking for a Victorian style ambience and, we daresay, virtually unique with the abundance of period type decor items. The two parrots and 'well built' friendly resident cat 'Butler' are also a nice touch.
Neil & Muriel

Room Tip: For later in the year, a room at the rear of the cottage, with attached sun decks, provides ample su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingkiwi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Gingerbread cottage B&B. Our room was very quaint, comfortable and fun. There is a little museum's worth of collectibles, antiques, heritage and culture found in all the little nooks and cubbies, walls and tables of the house.

The breakfast was fabulous, and highly recommended.

Vanessa waqs very helpful in suggesting things to do and see on our short stay. We enjoyed walking to the sea wall, and following the path to the docks and harbor area of Victoria. The sights and sounds of Victoria are beautiful. We also enjoyed our tour of Butchart Gardens. The flowers in full bloom were amazing. What a beautiful treasure in B.C.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My fiance and I had planned to take my father to Victoria for his 65th birthday /retirement at the beginning of September. We booked well in advance and were looking forward to staying here. Unfortunately, a close family member of ours is terminally ill and we decided to postpone our trip.

I phoned Vanessa 16 days prior to our stay to inform her of the cancellation and was utterly appalled by her reaction. She had the audacity to say, "This is unbelievable! Do you know how many other people have been calling to book during that week?!" She then slammed the phone down but didn't actually hang up, so thinking she had intended to put me on hold, I stayed on the line and listened to her complain about me for a few minutes until I finally disconnected.

The reviews left by others made Vanessa seem like a gracious host, but I suppose it takes a situation like this to see one's true personality. My intention was to rebook at the Gingerbread Cottage when we rescheduled our trip, but I will certainly be staying elsewhere. And I caution any one whose life has the possibility of unforeseen circumstances from booking here as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliabee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bistrita6, Owner at Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Quote from the above review:
"Stayed August 2011, traveled with family"

This reviewer said that she stayed here with her family in August.
She never stayed here.

She seems very frustrated and we empathize with her, even said a prayer for her.
As for her 5 month long hold on her two rooms with a total of 12 nights and a cancellation one day before cancellation period runs out ...... we accepted it gracefully, with no charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Found this place through TripAdvisor and after checking out Gingerbread Cottage's website and seeing pictures of the amazing breakfast, decided to book here.

We took the Helijet from Vancouver in the morning and the Cottage was very easy to find, being a 10-15 minute walk from the landing point in James Bay. Very conveniently located (although everything in Victoria is relatively close by!), and about a 15 minute leisurely walk into the main 'downtown' of Victoria where Parliament building and the marina are.

Although we arrived much earlier than the 3pm check-in, at 8:30am we were still greeted and welcomed to leave our bags until the room was ready. We were spending the full day out anyways so this was not a problem, and Vanessa had let us know ahead of time that our room was occupied the night before and they have a 11am check-out, so no problem! We could smell the delicious breakfast cooking for that morning and couldn't wait until ours the next day.

The Cottage has two entrances on either side of the house with two stairways, allowing for some privacy when you come and go from your room. We stayed in the Klimt room which of course featured many pieces of artwork of Klimt and also had a nice deck with lots of flowers to enjoy. The owners have a cat (beware if you have allergies!) and two cuckatoos who are very friendly and like to be pet.

When we arrived back at the Cottage at 9pm after seeing Parliament lit up, our bags were in our room and the lights on to welcome us in. The room is a nice size with a Queen sized bed, desk, two chairs, kettle and tea to enjoy as well as private bathroom with soaps, shampoos, etc. There is also a small fridge in case you need to refrigerate anything. One minor thing is the floor creaks, but that didn't really affect our stay.

Breakfast the next morning was delicious. They provide a buffet of granola, watermelon (cut in heart shapes), pineapple, fresh blueberry scones (they were still warm!), apple strudel, rhubarb cake, fresh whipped cream, rhubarb juice and orange juice! You also get your choice of tea or coffee brought to your table. The table is so cute and all set up with beautiful silverware and doilies and homemade jams and jellies. Also as part of the breakfast you get to choose a main item... our choice was between Omelette with steak mushrooms, Omelette with 3 cheeses and ham, Omelette with Garden Vegetables or Blueberry Crepes. I would definitely recommend the Omelette with Garden Vegetables or with the steak mushrooms. They are delicious and after all the sweets on the buffet table it was nice to have savoury options!

All in all a great stay, and we even left with buying a few of their homemade quince jellies!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Vanessa and her husband are great hosts and were very generous with their home, their food, and their love of their region. She made a lot of great suggestions for things to do and her breakfast is worth the price of the room alone. My daughter was fascinated with the two cockatoos and Butler the cat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#6 of 92 in Victoria
270 reviews
Menzies Manor
#15 of 92 in Victoria
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2A7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salzburg chef Vanessa von Schellwitz welcomes you to her Gingerbread Cottage,a quiet and well zoned 1905 Heritage home which is an easy walk from US ferries, downtown and all attractions in Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, 1/2 block from ocean. Take the airporter to and from our door if you are arriving at YYJ. Our reasonable prices include Gourmet 4 course breakfast, cute 1905 rooms with roof gardens. Breakfasts are very stylishly set with Antique Victorian Silver. Vanessa prepares delicious specialties like lox or garden omlettes, berry crepes and fresh Austrian Apple Strudel. Good value, quiet and great location 1/2 block from Victoria's famous Dallas Road ocean promenade, Ogden Point cruise ship docks, and Breakwater structure. Book early as we tend to fill our rooms very fast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing