We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burgers in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moderne Burger

Moderne Burger
Ranked #356 of 3,537 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Moderne Burger is absolutely my favourite restaurant, and here is why:
1. The food. The portions are large, they cut the fries to order and the burgers are to die for. I always get the steak burger with cheddar cheese. Grab a pile of napkins - you will need them - as the burgers are so juicy. You will never leave hungry as the burgers are big and the fries are plentiful.

2. The drinks. I have never had a milkshake here (although I'm told I should) but I'm always lured in by the cherry coke. They also offer vanilla coke, vanilla root beer, and orange cream.

3. The decor/atmosphere. Great '50s/'60s music and an awesome art deco interior, complete with mint-coloured booths and a jukebox!

4. The staff. This place is a true mom and pop shop, run by two of the warmest and friendliest individuals you will meet. They always greet you as you walk in the door with a smile. As I have brought almost every single one of my friends there, they recognize me.

The only down side is that they are not open 24/7 to cater to my burger needs,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best burgers in Vancouver!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My favourite burger is with bacon & mushroom. Not generally available, but ready made here with the coffee being made fresh as the owner said it was not suitable. Service, price & food outstanding!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank muzza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Vegetarians beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is renowned for there meat burgers not the veggie patty.
The vegetarian burger is nothing special.
If you are going with your meat eating friends best to stick to the shakes and fries.

Helpful?
2 Thank JezandStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Burger in the Lower Mainland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hands down, the best. Always a treat. So juicy you have to be really careful not to make a huge mess. Such huge helpings of fries that a single order is more than enough for two people. I've tried the kings of the the Lower Mainland, but this one is the supreme overlord of burger joints. Long live Moderne Burger!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenHumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best burger in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This please really does have the best burgers you can find anywhere. I can't even make it as good myself at home - no matter what I do. The meat is REAL beef and tastes like a real burger should. And each burger is cooked to perfection. The bun and toppings are very fresh - and the french fries are made from freshly cut potatoes - cooked perfectly. Sodas and shakes are also great. Nice clean atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachfan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moderne Burger also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Moderne Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing