We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chill Winston

Chill Winston
Ranked #155 of 3,705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, International, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Gastown
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I've not experienced many Canadian bars so the concept of being served at the table etc is new to me. It's both a good and a bad thing. The staff were all over us ensuring we had drinks all night (but this meant we spent a lot of money!!). The band was wicked, and the little dance floor in the middle was perfect for getting up to throw a few shapes. The drinks were varied and really interesting. I really liked this place. Not too expensive either!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou9em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    157
    70
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unique dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Chill Winston has a great diverse menu. I had the Sablefish which was tasty. What gave it a distinct flavor was the bed of chick peas on which it was served. It is a delight for Atkinson dieters. I am not on Atkins but I simply loved the way it was presented

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Surya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great people watching patio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Brunch was expensive and the portions tiny. Drinks were good but also spendy. The service was average. The saving grave was that this is a great location for people watching in Gastown. That being said, next time I'm hungry or thirsty and want to people watch, I'll eat elsewhere and THEN walk (it off) around the neighbourhood.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCWestcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, Casual Service - Great Drinks - Perfect Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I met up with a couple of friends for drinks and nibbles last week, and was definitely surprised by the level of service and quality of food.

After all, the decor is very casual, as are the servers --- well, at least they 'appear' casual. In fact, they're on very much on top of their job and pay just enough attention to their clients yet aren't overbearing or annoying.

While ordering drinks one of our guests had some specific questions regarding the particular way in which his drink was going to be prepared. Unlike most laid-back restaurants, the server didn't need to consult anyone, and instantly recited details of both how the drinks are made and exactly what is on the menu.

The food is good, with a creative (but not cheeky) menu and the overall experience truly is "chill".

If you're looking for a place to kick back, relax, and show up in a t-shirt and jeans yet enjoy good food and drink, then this is a definite must.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
357 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A good restaurant in TouristTown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Here's a surprise in Gastown, just down the street from the cruise ship dock: Chill Winston. We stumbled in and were the first customers of the day (Great service!). I was surprised to see an innovative menu (graded "Smaller" to "Large") and even happier to enjoy the delicate flavors in the smoked chops sauce, aided by a truly excellent sweet mustard (new to me -- must be an import from somewhere). Spinach expertly done and Bloomberg Businessweek to read plus some beer and I was a very happy tourist indeed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill Winston also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Chill Winston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing