We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Saravanaa Bhavan has Closed this Location”

Sargam House Restaurant
Ranked #1,516 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Shaughnessy
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This Saravanaa Bhavan has Closed this Location”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Unfortunately, the Saravanaa Bhavan has moved out of Vancouver now and the restaurant while still South Indian and vegetarian is not the same. Ownership has changed. Still have the same dosa chef but the main chef has left. Food does taste not the same but it is still good and I would recommend it. New restaurant is called Sargam House. It seems that you have to go to Toronto now if you want to eat at Saravana now. :( New owners seem kind.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Vegetarian Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I am a person that looks meat, so when I was taken here knowing that there was no meat on the menu, I was a little skeptical. However the vast array of choices, textures and spices in the meal was what got me to go back again and again. Their selection of dosas, uttapams and other breads is exceptional, and I've never left feeling as if I was missing anything. We generally order a thali plus some other mixed plate, and it is always enough. Delicious very time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sperifera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spicy, cheap and delicious !”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This Began restaurant is a place I discovered with a friend when we wanted to eat cheap food.

I really like their Wednesday special because you get a mix of North Indian food. It is huge and for only $6.99 it really worth it.

Monday special is a spinach and cheese dosa. It is really really good because it is not really spicy and it cost $5.

If you plan to bring your girlfriend there, it may not be the best place because the restaurant looks like a cantine.

Helpful?
2 Thank takayukibru
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So Happy to Have Found YOU!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've been travelling in BC for more than 1.5 months. Just happened to be going through this area to Service Canada then spotted a South Indian Vegetarian restaurant. Immediately, I became excited and told my partner about it when I returned to the hostel. We went there for dinner. He recognized this chain as being a very popular restaurant chain in India as he is East Indian. They are known for their low prices as well as high quality food. We went a few days in a row. Really enjoyed the buffet. It includes a small masala dosa and dessert. One of the very best buffet's I've ever had. The head chef came and greeted us at our table. Service was excellent too!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Management, Terrible hygiene standard”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We went with high expectations of great south Indian food and ambience. We were very impressed on entering the place - we were shown the underground parking area and were asked to come up. On entering we found no one coming forward to seat us. Eventually we found a table on our own. We ordered our food after waiting for over 20 minutes. While waiting we went to the restroom and found the toilet was an absolute mess and the floor was terrible. Walking back to the table we saw there was spilt chutney and sambhar on the floor - drying!! The food for 4 of us was brought at different times with no attempt to explain the delays. The food itself was of acceptable taste - but not to the Saravana Bhavan standard one has come to know in other places. We went away with a very poor impression of the way the place is run by this management - possibly the franchisee has no guidance. Overall a very forgettable experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank K L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sargam House Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sargam House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing