We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Fun Show”

Legendary Noodle House
Ranked #264 of 3,706 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
191 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fun Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

It's fun to watch the noodles being made fresh and to watch the cooks right in front of your table. The food is excellent and the small but extremely busy place is frequented by locals, which tells you it is good. We shared the Lemon Chicken in Peanut Sauce and the noodles with Lamb Shank, both were delicious. I also had the Chrysanthemum tea. In a city of very expensive restaurants this was a treat of great food for a reasonable price of $24 for 2 people including tip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    58
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
187 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“yummy Nooodles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

o M G ... What fantastic food, great menu for any one's taste. Your noodles are made as you watch. everything is fresh and made to order. Wish we had found this place earlier in our 5 day visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinwood1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Denman Street is so full of restaurants it would be easy to miss this narrow, unobtrusive, place but it’s definitely worth looking out for. Unfortunately, I only came across it on my last night. Simply delicious noodles and spring rolls, that you can see being made to order. Ridiculously cheap too. One of the best meals on the trip. Only wish I could have gone back for more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AScotsmanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Died and Gone to Foodie Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's amazing how you often find the most memorable restaurants by accident. We were actually on our way to Banana Leaf when we noticed this hole-in-the-wall with a queue of people milling around outside and diners inside piling into bowls of gorgeous looking noodles, so we made a note to return the following day.

And return we did and managed to snag a table with the added bonus of being able to see the chefs actually prepare the fresh noodles - which is an art-form in itself.

The restaurant has a great vibe to the restaurant, there's constant foot traffic, with locals picking up their take-out, however given how busy the restaurant was, our service was always prompt.

We started off by sharing the lemon chicken dumplings, packed full of flavour which was beautiful offset by a spicy peanut sauce. We followed this with Tibetan lamb shank with flat noodle that just fell off the bone, was perfectly seasoned and just melted in the mouth, and the Gan Ban Mian - flat noodles, pork, black bean sauce with mushrooms. Again, the flavours were perfectly balanced and the noodles rich and glutenous.

We'd also highly recommend the chrysanthemum tea - like everything else we tasted in this restaurant - beautifully balanced.

To summarise. One of the best noodle restaurants I've been fortunate to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BritinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great noodles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

great place as per the other reviews-the tea was amazing-the noodles divine
good service good atmosphere
i was very jet lagged and had walked about 2kms to get to the place
paid on credit card and it didnt tip
shame the old lady hounded me because i told her it was so good
didnt have any cash for a tip
its worth the walk if you like noodles
wished i could have returned a few times to work my way through the menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nettyk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legendary Noodle House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Legendary Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing