We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great sushi. Service a bit lacking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akira Sushi

Akira Sushi
Ranked #779 of 3,534 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great sushi. Service a bit lacking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The food here is great. Sushi was awesome and fresh. The service was great only when they came around which wasn't very often. But a great place and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great sushi in a small no frills place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Went here and enjoyed it. We ordered the chicken teriyaki and a bunch of different rolls to share. The rolls were delicious! It's a pretty small place so some people had to wait in line but its worth it. Ill be going back again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is very small and the decor is not a priority for the owners. It has a diner kind of feel, even though the tables are spread out in the room. However, the food is fantastic, the service excellent and the cost extremely reasonable!! We ordered a variety of vegetable sushi and it was excellent. We paid cash - total cost was $20 for two people! Wow!
If you would like a quick, delicious meal with good service, visit this restaurant in west Vancouver!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank highlandancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dynamite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The dynamite roll that Akira sushi makes is superb. The fish is always fresh and you can order black rice on the sushi which creates a wonderful nutty texture.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Pears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Debit machine will not accept charge without tip for take out.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I think the review says it all. I went here for take out. I used my credit card to pay. I attempted to finalize the charge without a tip and the machine would not accept the charge. I then informed the server and received an entitled "no tip?" In response. Entitled rude service. You are not entitled to a tip for take out. Never again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EvanUTVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akira Sushi also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Akira Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing