We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Kerrisdale Sushi Go-to” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shota Sushi & Grill

Shota Sushi & Grill
Ranked #1,306 of 3,500 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kerrisdale
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kerrisdale Sushi Go-to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family and I have eaten at this excellent Sushi eatery in Kerrisdale a number of times now. Whenever we are at BC Children's for an appt we head here first. If you get there at the right time (before the major lunch rush) the service is quick and the food is excellent. Some if the best Sushi I've had in Vancouver.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First of many more visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very impressive food. I'm a big fan of Japanese food and tend to be picky when it comes to sushi but Shota passed the test! Make sure to try their specialty rolls. Service was slow, though. My friend had to wait a long time for a refill of water and I waited more than 15minutes for my grilled mackerel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judykins_1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food, prompt service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Sushi and sashimi both great. Interesting special rolls

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
401 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“Good Sushi in a Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Looking to try a new Kerrisdale Sushi restaurant and stumbled upon Shota to discover a casual atmosphere and decor that were surprisingly nice and comfortable with very good food! We tried a varied sampling of sashimi, sushi and grill and were more than happy with each and every order. Unfortunately though, the service was a touch on the slow side, but we definitely plan a return visit.

With that said, the spicy tuna sashimi is not to be missed!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Geoduck roll! *Le Adore*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

Geoduck roll! *Le Adore*

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shota Sushi & Grill also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Shota Sushi & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing