We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I too do not get it”
Review of Japadog

Japadog
Ranked #10 of 287 Quick Bites in Vancouver
Cuisines: American, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reviewed December 11, 2016

I have been dying to try this for years . I finally did and join the people who do not get it. I had a #1 ( most popular!) with a veggie dog. I eat veggie dogs all the time so I'm ok with it. But basically it was a hot dog with fried onions lots of mayo covered with tons of dry nasty seaweed. It was a Super clunker for me and I have no idea what the appeal of this place is more than once. Oh and it was $7 for a hot dog. Super clunk.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank coffeechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 481 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2016

While the toppings on the dogs are quite unique and delicious, the quality and taste of the actual hot dog meat was not good. I ordered the Terimayo and the Oroshi. Terimayo was ok, but the oroshi's meat was unseasoned and devoid of flavor. Super disappointing. A great hot dog balances excellent meat with fun and flavorful toppings and a fresh bun. These hotdogs only had flavorful toppings

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank XelP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

This food truck was recommended for a quick lunch. Had the Beef Terimayo. It was pretty good. I could probably only eat one, the seaweed flavor in conjunction with the hotdog was interesting. Overall a good experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank txcowgirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We tried to find lots of different food vans and read about japadog. The hot dogs were nice and had their unusual twist which we haven't come across before.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank hannahs975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 24, 2016

There's really nothing special about these hot dogs... there's a bit of seaweed and some mayo/.... don't get it ?

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank LuLuu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Japadog also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Japadog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.