We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Oysters than you can imagine!”

Rodney's Oyster House
Ranked #32 of 3,777 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More Oysters than you can imagine!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday night without booking but the friendly staff found us a place a the counter which was fascinating as we saw all the chowders and the moules being prepared.We also saw the oysters being shucked ,15 different types,!!.I had delicious scallops each in a filigree potato coating which were delicious as were the desserts.The wine list was also excellent

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaPentycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    203
    53
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The freshest fish in town”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great ambience, with knowledgeable servers wearing rude t-shirts. The food is great and there's lots of good choices in the drinks department. As the name implies their specialty is fresh oysters, but there's plenty of other seafood to choose from.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Really excellent fried oysters”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is just to say that I had some seriously excellent fried oysters at Rodney's today; the best I have ever had. Not little skinny bits that come out of the freezer and into the fryer, but plump, fresh oysters, fried up and served. The oysters on the half shell were good, too. My fellow diners were not as enthusiastic about their crab cakes; said they were dry, not wonderful. But the fried oysters were great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ariadna007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

the oyster were didderent sizes, and had all types of sauces to add to them. the drinks were great and the chowder was made in heaven thanks to the staff we were able to make good choices great night

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cc140846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended Rodney's while on holiday in Vancouver, and it completely lived up to the recommendation. Great food, with a massive selection of oysters and spicy sauces, really helpful service, and friendly, laid back atmosphere. We'd definitely go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodney's Oyster House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Rodney's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing