We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“ecclectic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bon's Off Broadway

Bon's Off Broadway
Ranked #413 of 3,507 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Fusion, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“ecclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

we were treated to this gem of a restaurant about a week ago and really enjoyed it. the people that took us were worried that we wouldn't like it but what is not to like? it is an old place with posters on the wall and people writing on them and the walls, signing their names etc. there is a real mix of clientele which we enjoyed and the service and food was excellent. there were three people working and they did an awesome job! there were five in our group and breakfast/lunch cost us under $20. if you want a fancy place to eat, don't bother but if you want a great breakfast with an interesting and very friendly bunch of people then you should definitely give this place a try. apparently weekends are extremely busy so expect lineups but they put people through at an amazing rate! quite enjoyed it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peggy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,187 helpful votes
“Top tips for visiting Bon's Off Broadway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Tip 1: If you do not own a car then prepare to catch the publich transport to this joint. Be warned that the public transports are really slow and always delayed during weekend.

Tip 2: What to order? Ok, definitely order the $2.99 meal deal. I highly recommend you to order only 1 pancake if you are not a big eater because the pancakes itself are pretty big.

Tip 3: You must must order the hot chocolate. Maybe its just me or American food? The hot chocolate is extremely rich because they top it up with whipped cream. It is a must to add it!

Tip 4: The restaurant itself is quite old and we could feel the oily sticky grease on the walls and seats but it didnt bother us because the food was amazing.

Tip 5: The service from the waiters are pretty friendly too, it could be because they just wanted to get more tips from the customers so that they put up a really happy face to us all the time.

Tip 6: One last thing, they won't bring you the maple syrup if you never ask for it. SO ...please remember to ask for it or go to the counter and help yourself with a big bottle of maple syrup on top of your pancakes!

Highly recommend anyone to frequent this joint. One of the best Canadian breakfast place in Vancouver after Denny's (possibly?)


If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hungary_Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Depends on what you want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I liked the neighborhhod feel, the grafitti on the wall, the real food and people. Some in my party didn't think it was for tourists. Maybe so, but they were friendly and the $2.95 breakfast special was enough to let me skip lunch. Y

Helpful?
Thank MDWMember0928
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can't beat the size and prize of breakfast special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Can't beat the size and prize of breakfast special. I have tried other greasy spoons but for the price this is one of the best. We have been going for years.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cassino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have gone there for several years, once or twice a week. Best low-priced breakfast in town. Very busy, wide variety of clientele. Breakfast time on weekends, sometimes on weekdays, will produce a line-up. Combination of booths and small tables.

Breakfast includes fried potatoes, two eggs, variety of toasts, the usual bacon/ham/sausage option, coffee for about 4.50. Service is good. Eggs prepared as you like, they nearly always get it just right. Breakfast served all day.

Chinese and standard burgers, etc. available, specials every day.

Service is brisk and business-like, efficient but polite. Regulars get coffee/ refills for themselves and often for others.

Parking is tricky, may have to walk a couple of blocks. Bus service on Nanaimo and Broadway busses.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NGC255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon's Off Broadway also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bon's Off Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing