We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Drinks and Oysters”

Notch8 Restaurant & Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 10/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #184 of 4,348 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: With a luxurious and contemporary design inspired by the romance of travel in the 1930’s, Notch8 brings a new era of glamour to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Named after a train’s top speed, the restaurant pays homage to the hotel’s storied history and legacy as a luxury hotel along the Canadian Pacific railway. Chef Will Lew has modernized the essence of classic dishes from the archived menus of the hotel’s early days to appeal to today’s discerning palates. Behind the bar, vibrant cocktails made popular during pre and post prohibition times are being shaken up, and an extensive wine list with offerings from around the world has been curated with recommendations for best pairings. A gathering place where locals and travellers come together, Notch8 offers exceptional cuisine, great wines, and enticing cocktails in a lively environment. We invite you to visit and make us part of your journey.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did just drinks and oysters here but I must say the bartender has his craft down. over 4 days I had maybe 4 cocktails and all were exquisite. Now they're $18C but that is what $14 US.
Oyster in all of Vancover should not be missed. So I give it a big thumbs up.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank allgoodnamesgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall the experience felt rushed. I had just sat down to the table and was asked what tea I wanted. It was hard to get through the list of teas and pressure was on to pick a tea quickly. The server called the items by different names when they arrived than what was on he menu so we had to ask again to steer clear of items some of our party wanted to avoid, another server saw that we were challenged while passing by but was gracious enough to help. For the price, I would have thought that the whole experience would have been next level...I can tell you, it’s not. There were screaming children at a table near ours and no one told them to be quiet not even their parents so that did not help. Overall I feel that they are hiding behind the Fairmont name, catering to tourists and not quality service, food and overall experience. The actual tea was lovely. I won’t be back and can’t recommend it.

1  Thank dvbatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a really large party on a Sunday to celebrate our son’s marriage.
Reached out to the restaurant staff by phone, voicemails and emails to see if they could make special arrangements to accommodate our 3 vegan guests. Was told on the phone it wasn’t possible then was given contact information for 2 different higher ups which after 2 voicemails left yielded on response. Then tried email to which sadly there was also never a response.
Scrabbled the week before to find a new venue and was successful and when l cancelled our booking of 22 people @ $58 a head they didn’t even flinch......Oh well guess they are soooo fantastic and busy, it’s not worth anyone’s time. :/

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank HeyCanada59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As in other Fairmont hotels, the buffet breakfast.offered a huge number of options, all expertly presented and delicious. Great start to the day!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LJL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Located in the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, Notch8 does everything you want from a restaurant situated in a luxury hotel. They offer a good breakfast (we ate twice, both times ordering off the menu) with friendly and attentive service.

We also stepped in for an afternoon high tea. Their tea room is cozy and fun, and the servers were very accommodating with tea and sandwich refills, while also offering to take photos. The tea and scone selections were good and the corinthian chicken was a hit with my daughter. The other sandwiches (the roast beef and salmon pas de choux) were dryer and less flavorful. The array of puddings were fun and well decorated, but were largely over sweet. Fair warning, like most high teas, this one is not cheap at $60 CAD.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RH0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notch8 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Notch8 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing