We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless start to finish”
Review of Yew Seafood + Bar

Yew Seafood + Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Yew Seafood + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 3,808 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $48
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Howe & West Georgia
Description: YEW seafood + bar is one of the city's premier seafood restaurants, delivering exceptionally delicious cuisine, great wines, innovative cocktails and a fun, welcoming environment for guests — all wrapped in legendary Four Seasons service. Perched at treetop level in Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver, YEW's chic space, communal table and bar make it the perfect place to bring your social network.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Flawless start to finish”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stumbled across Yew while out shopping and were blown away by our experience. We were warmly welcomed, assisted with menu choices and served with a delicious meal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    231
    89
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food but VERY SALTY”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely enjoyed the menu, ambiance and use of technology in viewing the wine list. Each table has a tablet in which you can browse wines by categories and regions. The service was also excellent.

The only issue we had was that the food was very salty for our entire table. Not sure if it was a bad night but all meals had too much salt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“I LOVE Yew!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My dinner companion and I had dinner at Yew on the first of our two nights in Vancouver. We were staying overnight at the Four Seasons Hotel at the end of a cruise/tour. We loved our dinner so much that we ended up having two breakfasts here, and we also had cocktails and food at the bar on the second evening. Every person with whom we came in contact was wonderful, the service was great, and the food was always fabulous. For dinner starters we shared the halibut ceviche. Our dinner entrees included the westcoast paella and more halibut. Everything was fabulous. If we returned for dinner, we would definitely order the seafood tower for two, which was observed being delivered to a few different tables. It looked amazing! A bonus on Sunday evenings is that every single bottle of wine on their wine list is available at half price! They have a great wine list. For breakfast, their breakfast sandwich (think upscale Egg McMuffin) was possibly the best breakfast sandwich I have ever had anywhere. We loved our stay at the Four Seasons, and we especially loved Yew.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Sea Food. Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We ate twice at Yew. The sea food here is excellent as well as the bar food.

We ordered grilled trout, which was excellent and we also got crab tacos both were excellent. The bar staff was amazing and was happy to prepare (and improvise very well) the drink my partner had once drank called "poison berry". They were extremely attentive and great conversationist.

Our server both times was a gentleman (whose name I forget) who was extremely and great at recommending dishes and having them catered to our dietary requirements. A great experience all in all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ava a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our meal at Yew was amazing from start to finish. They have an extensive wine selection across a wide range of price points. My brother and I benefited from a promotion for 1/2 off bottles of wine as well! While the size (in relation to the price) of our appetizer selection - the BC prawns - was disappointing, they were delicious. And from looking around at the other dinners, it seemed other appetizers were more generously portioned. The west coast Paella was amazing and the trout with gnocchi was perfection! And the service was spot-on as well. Despite a busy kitchen and limited staff in the bar area, we felt well attended to. We were not in any rush, however the waiter apologized for our lengthy wait time between courses and ended up compensating us for our dessert. Speaking of dessert, make sure to try the rhubarb ice cream!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vespa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yew Seafood + Bar also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Yew Seafood + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing