We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must eat restaurant”
Review of East is East

East is East
Reserve with OpenTable
East is East is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #264 of 3,751 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Description: Our cuisine is inspired by the opulent flavors and meticulous cooking processes of Eastern cultures found along the ancient Silk Route - which includes the flavours in India, Afghanistan and Persia.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A must eat restaurant”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

They have great vegeterian/ meat options, eveything is delicious. The atmosphere is great and staffs are friendly and can guide you through the menu.
Don't forget to try their ice cream dessert, it;s kinda hot n cold and that's make it really unique and tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank May_Malek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    50
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for every kind of person!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

In one word: spectacular! Very tasty food and perfect both for vegan or not. They have a kind of "all you can eat" (called feast) and you can try all of their main courses! Service is very gentle and the price is affordable. Great place

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must Eat at East is East!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

East is East is amazing. We felt transported to a different country when we entered the Chai Lounge. I love to go out to restaurants for more than just the food, I want an experience, and East is East provided just that...but the food is delicious, too! They had me at the warm Chai tea upon entering.

When we arrived, there was a long wait and they don't take reservations, but we found out there was a Chai Lounge upstairs that there wasn't a wait for; the only difference was that it offered live music and was buffet style...no brainer to us!?! I couldn't figure out why other people would rather wait in line. The Chai Lounge was warm, unique and exotic...a very cool experience. The food was so good. Believe it or not, it was our first time eating middle eastern food, and I am now hooked! It was very affordable, too: a buffet experience full of delicious and varied options
(vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, meat) for $27 per person. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
274 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Really good, unique food”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had the sampler menu where you can basically keep ordering little taster dishes until you have had enough, for one reasonable price. What a great idea and the food was very good. We had a guitar player right beside us and he kept us unwittingly entertained with his illogical environmental tunes. Very mellow vibe, not fancy, but it was exactly as intended. A definite must-try!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelownatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

East is East makes flavourful, consistent food. Especially good: Kichri, mango butternut squash, Boulanyi. their rolls are wonderful, and on the occasions when the upstairs is open (weekend evenings usually) the buffet is a good deal if you have a HUNGRY person or two. I've been to one private event there and it was a perfect venue for that. However, they haven't changed their menu in years. So for us it's an occasional rather than a regular lunch or supper. The decor is quirky--which is nice, but the seats are NOT especially comfortable, especially in the east room. Overall, one of our Vancouver favourites. Unlike anywhere else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East is East also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to East is East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing