We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favourites”
Review of East is East

East is East
Reserve with OpenTable
East is East is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #261 of 3,732 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Description: Our cuisine is inspired by the opulent flavors and meticulous cooking processes of Eastern cultures found along the ancient Silk Route - which includes the flavours in India, Afghanistan and Persia.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

East is East makes flavourful, consistent food. Especially good: Kichri, mango butternut squash, Boulanyi. their rolls are wonderful, and on the occasions when the upstairs is open (weekend evenings usually) the buffet is a good deal if you have a HUNGRY person or two. I've been to one private event there and it was a perfect venue for that. However, they haven't changed their menu in years. So for us it's an occasional rather than a regular lunch or supper. The decor is quirky--which is nice, but the seats are NOT especially comfortable, especially in the east room. Overall, one of our Vancouver favourites. Unlike anywhere else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    50
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Came for lunch. Loved the variety of food items within a single order, multiple portion sizes offered and the interesting menu. Food was great with serene atmosphere..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twopisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and very interesting menu”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a very interesting and good meal here. We were not familiar with Afghan food but the waitresses were very helpful and explained it to us and helped us make good choices. The Boulani was excellent. We also had a couple of roti rolls - the lamb was delicious, I was not as crazy about the salmon, but it was probably not the best choice - and some vegetarian rolls. They also had very nice tea.

The room itself is very interesting (at the Broadway location). If I had any complaint it was that the waitresses were too helpful - we appreciated the explanations and recommendations, but they over did it a little. It was certainly very attentive and good service, but we could have just used a bit more space - at one point the server took a seat with us at our table to help explain the menu.

It's not cheap, but not too bad, especially considering the area it is in. The food was really very good and well prepared in an interesting setting, and it is certainly different from everything else we have had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryTaxGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The foods very tasty and plentiful. Great Vegan options too. I do enjoy the chai tea with almond milk they do quite spicy which i like. Service is usually pretty good.
Last time i ate here it was a saturday and we felt a bit rushed by the staff but the food was still good

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pblandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants - EVER”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Delicious and aromatic food, with lots of vegetarian options. The atmosphere is relaxing and beautiful. I love the masala chai, and the roti rolls. (I had one stuffed with creamed spinach and mushrooms, and on another occasion paneer, potatos, and peas. SO GOOD!) Their mango chutney and dhal are other fabulous options, and make sure to get a plate of boulani! The flavours of the dishes are spicy and authentic. They make fabulous lassis and shakes, and everything is availble with soy milk or almond milk if desired.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MayaBridget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East is East also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to East is East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing