We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent meal...”
Review of JOEY Burrard

JOEY Burrard
Ranked #36 of 3,778 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Where the shoppers, moviegoers, diners, downtowners and hard workers get together to eat, drink and hangout.
West Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An excellent meal...”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had lunch on a Saturday at noon. The restaurant was not at all crowded, with seating available in the patio area and inside. Service was attentive. We each had the herb crush salmon, grilled medium-moist and topped with herbs atop beurre blanc and accompanied by a smattering of vegetables and a "crispy mashed potato" - a delicate mashed potato topped with a crispy pastry shell in the shape of an egg roll; the combination of textures was quite pleasing. The dish was one of the most delicious meals during our stay in Vancouver and, at $23.50 each, was quite reasonable in an otherwise expensive city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocPsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    279
    56
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly, Comfortable, Easy, Good food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

this was a great pick for a solo dinner while on business and staying in the area. Had a hard time choosing, but decided on the French Dip which was very good - however I would have preferred some swiss or other white cheese on it, and they said they only had Cheddar. I ate at the bar where several other solo business travelers, and solo tourists, made for good conversation. One fellow had the rotisserie chicken on a bed on quinoa, and it looked excellent (and he said it was!). Another had the salmon salad, also a winner. They had a great area for outdoor seating, which looked lovely. I'd come back, or try one of their other locations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzungu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to meet and have a drink after work! Lots of energy”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Right from the start they welcome you at Joey's Burrard and at the Bentall location too!
Great place to meet and have a drink. Great selection and can't comment on the food because I didn't eat there but all looked great. The formula is a milestones and they are there just to serve you and allow you to get to where you need to go!

Young, energetic, organized and a scene!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truenorthandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Contemporary restaurant serving excellent food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited twice during our stay in Vancouver - yes it was that good!

Couldn't fault the food or the staff. Busy bar scene and outside seating area. Would recommend booking.

One member of our party thought the Apple Pie was the best he's ever tasted!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants in Vancouver downtown, has been there for more than 10 times, so worth writing a positive review, we keep on coming back for the beach Salad !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darra2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JOEY Burrard also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to JOEY Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing