We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and fun”
Review of Guu Original

Guu Original
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 12/1
8:00 PM
Ranked #137 of 3,562 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Authentic Japanese cuisine in a fun and electric atmosphere. Try this restaurant for the fantastic food and experience.
Reviewed May 4, 2016

We ate here while on a weekend trip to Vancouver. We wanted a light and fairly inexpensive dinner and this place fit the bill. We ate almost exclusively off the daily menu which had a lot of interesting options including bacon mushroom yakisoba, fried curry croquette, and Chinese broccoli. We also had some sashimi which tasted very fresh.The restaurant is quite small and has a fun, lively atmosphere- the staff do a lot of yelling which I think is part of thier brand. They were playing pop/dance hits - if you want a quiet place for a date this is not the place, but if you want a fun place to eat before a night out on the town this is the perfect restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 335 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2016

Have seen how busy this little place is so decided to give it a try. Had dinner here on a weeknight, seated right away. Found the daily menu hard to understand so asked the waitress for advice..we had the calamari which was eight rings not crspy at all, a red prawn each - this was the whole prawn pan fried and had the Udon Beef,which the waitress said was the most popular item on the menu, not many vegetables or beef but was tasty. Maybe we just didn't know what to order because it was really only ok. Had to try it but won't be back.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank jlharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

U just have to beat the crowd to come in slightly before 6p to get your seats. But despite how busy it gets you don't feel rushed. The staff has always been quick yet courteous. The food is excellent and variety is amazing. It's always been one of my favourite places to chill, eat and drink with a few good friends

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank carmen303
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

When I have a hour break I always go to Guu original thurlow for lunch. Guu is tasty, quick, and reasonable. I love their today's special! Staff are all very nice and hard workers. Keep up your great work Guu Thurlow!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Satomi1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

Our party of 12 arrived on a busy Saturday and proceeded to order what seemed like everything on the menu. Servers were patient and undaunted by our appetites. It was all pretty terrific, with tako yaki, flash cooked beef, and tuna as highlights. Even with a ton of food, pitchers of Sapporo and drinks for kids, bill per family was less than $60 USD. Will definitely return

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Kristin_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guu Original also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Guu Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.