We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo delicious”
Review of Guu

Guu
Reserve with OpenTable
Guu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #266 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Authentic Japanese cuisine in a fun and electric atmosphere. Try this restaurant for the fantastic food and experience.
Palm Desert, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soooo delicious”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I were craving Japanese tapas izakaya style. Got there early and lots of Asians were already lined up. We started with the salmon salad and kimchi udon noodles, both were mouth meltingly awesome. Then ordered the BBQ eel rice dish which was my favorite dish. I could have had three more dishes of it alone. My wife finished her Sapporo which was her first time to finish a whole beer. The atmosphere was superb as everyone was greeted with the irrashaimase welcome. Staff and service couldn't be beat. My wife and I are going back for the last nite of our trip. Doo moo arigatoo, Guu!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imonboard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    106
    23
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A local's recommendation!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had a Canadian friend not introduced us to Guu, we would not even have known it existed. Tucked in, just off Robson St, this was an excellent choice for izakaya. This branch is the original in Vancouver, with a few more dotted around town.

The was a short wait to be seated and received a loud and cheery welcome from all the staff as we entered. There were too many options to choose from, but I guess that is the spirit of izakaya. Sharing is caring and maximizing on the different options. There is nothing on the menu I would not recommend. There are plenty of meat, fish or vegetarian options and a variety of drinks to accompany the meal. Service was pleasant and very efficient.

We received an equally friendly and cheery "goodbye" on our way out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“must go place for dining out”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

one of the best izakaya restaurant in North America! Every time we visit Vancouver, we eat at this restaurant. Sometimes 2 nights in a row. It's not a big place and limited seating area, but the food is great! Definitely will go back this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank greatjoy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

So we went while visiting Vancouver and we were very glad we did. We tried a bunch of the menu items including the beef tongue, fried octopus balls, beef potatoe gallettes, and a beef soup. Our favorite was the Kimichi fried rice we ordered it last thinking we would take it with us and eat it later, but we devoured it it was so good.

Helpful?
Thank chloefazeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Izakaya in vancouver”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Didnt expect to find so much good Japanese food in Vancouver but this one is good. Service is casual and relaxed while serving you great Japanese comfort food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SvanteJerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guu also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Guu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing