We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,”

Aphrodite's Organic Cafe & Pie Shop
Ranked #566 of 3,751 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: Dunbar
Transit: From Downtown take the #4 UBC, #44 UBC, #17 UBC or #7 Dunbar from Downtown Vancouver to 4th Avenue and Collingwood Street.
Description: Aphrodite's takes pride in serving the finest local organic food available in Vancouver. We aim to work directly with local organic farms to ensure that our menu has the smallest ecological footprint possible. We serve an outstanding organic brunch 7 days a week as well as a phenomenal evening fresh sheet featuring local Ocean wise seafood, organic free range poultry and many vegan and vegetarian options. Our everyday menu is full of wonderful comfort foods like turkey pot pie, vegetarian chili, crispy thin crust pizzas made with spelt flour, sensuous salads and hearty soups served with fresh homemade bread. Aphrodite's is most famous for our pies which are made from all organic ingredients including local organic fruits and berries. We also have organic wheat and gluten free and vegan pies for those with special dietary requirements.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
293 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great food,”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Liked everything - Good food especially the home baked bread and pies.Good farm grown produce. Really liked the freshness of tastes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RafikiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saved by the Lamb Sausage”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was my mum's 70th birthday! Her best friend with terminal cancer (and its apparent) decided she wanted to go to Aphrodites because she maintains her organic lifestyle even though she is dying. So, six of us go down to the restaurant and are roughly seated by a surly "boy" who was quite impatient with us. After we were seated, our server threw down some cutlery (not enough i might add) in the middle of the table and walked away. We finally ordered some coffee and when she came back to take our order, she asked us "how everything tasted?" Um, we only have coffee, and we have no spoons to stir it with? The food took about 30 minutes to arrive and other than the bread, it was delicious. Not worth the price mind you, but the Lamb sausage was delicious. When the bill came, they added a 20% gratuity for 6 or more people. Hmmmmm is that licensce to give bad service? I will NEVER go there again. I absolutely cannot stand grumpy service. Hello! you are in the customer service industry! We are paying your salary! We do not owe you anything!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty food.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Family enjoyed the trip here, but after ordering 2 pizzas and 2 burgers, 3 glasses wine and 2 bottles of beer, the $150 bill stung! It seems anywhere with a rep for tasty food in Vancouver really charge a premium, and cash in on it.
Good food, but poor value for money (unless you're used to the premium stuck on everything in this beautiful city).

Helpful?
Thank Maceachmharcaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Awful staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Awful, awful, awful customer service! Time and again, the staff either ignores you or – on those rare occasions when you can get their attention – treats you with a flippant, condescending attitude.

I work in the customer service field and I know how easy it is to be courteous and friendly toward customers, so Aphrodite's has NO excuse for this rude behaviour!

After the last incident (being hung up on) I have given up on Aphrodite's and will gladly give any of their competitors my business. If was the owner, I would be ashamed!

Oh, and their food is OVERPRICED and not very good!

NO STARS!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choices”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great place for breakfast. I have the eggs benny every time and they're always a treat. Have yet to have dinner here but look forward to trying in the future. Great selection of desserts and everything is reasonably priced. Well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aphrodite's Organic Cafe & Pie Shop also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Aphrodite's Organic Cafe & Pie Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing