We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, Fun Place for Dinner”

La Casita Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #522 of 3,777 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gastown
London
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lively, Fun Place for Dinner”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a very enjoyable dinner at La Casita. Most meals come in two portion sizes (small or large), we opted for the 'small' and had plenty to eat. We were given complimentary tortilla with spicy dips immediately upon arrival and our server recommended the Pacifico Mexican beer that we found smooth and delicous.

Meal for two including three beers and decent tip came to Canadian $60, which seems pretty good value in a very touristy area.

One young couple at another table had the biggest Magarita that I've ever seen.

A fun evening with tasty food at a good price. Well worth trying if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreelancerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    58
    25
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Food good, portions generous, prices reasonable, fast service and nice atmosphere with young customers. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank horatio1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food so far from Mexico!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend in Vancouver and were walking around the Gastown area if the city. Vancouver is not known for its Mexican food, but this is a great fun little restaurant. Very lively atmosphere. Food is pretty good. The vegetable chimichangas were surprisingly good. I would recommend this place if in town!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guppy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unattentive Management”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The food is nice, but overpriced. It's a fun atmosphere, and the waitress we had was very sweet. However, a friend discovered an industrial staple in his food, which he narrowly avoided eating. We pointed this out to the waitress who was apologetic. We were hoping for some sort of discount, or a beer on the house when the bill came, but nothing. When we asked the waitress about it, she said that the manager didn't think it was a big deal. We were quite put off that there was zero effort to remedy the situation, even a short visit by the manager would have been nice. This incident made me lose trust in the restaurant and I won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matayata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and really friendly service.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were just walking by this restaurant and decided to call in. We were warmly greeted and shown to a table. We were a small group so were seated upstairs. I was pleased to see that larger groups were accommodated down stairs. The service was prompt and friendly. Our attendant was able to explain different menu items to us and we were very pleased with our meals. The flavours were great and the portion sizes were generous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SistaGirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to La Casita Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing