We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great meals ans service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keg - CLOSED

The Keg
Cuisines: American, Soups, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fairview
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meals ans service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is our third time back to the keg because of the great meals and service.The steaks and seafood were splendid.The service is fine and very good.The prices we found were great.Tony.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    74
    24
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“value for money and a good steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

There are a couple of Kegs in Vancouver. Both serve good steaks at fair prices in a friendly and cheerful atmosphere. They take kids and parties yet we were seated in a quieter part of the restaurant and didn't notice any noise.
Service was tops and we had a fun and tasty night.
Good honest affordable steaks. Desserts were good too

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

While visiting Vancouver, Canada , I was looking for a good steakhouse to celebrate a birthday. I was told to try The Keg and I was sure glad I did. Not only was the restaurant very inviting in its decor, but the service and the food was amazing. Our waitress could not have been more helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the menu. The food was perfection on a plate. My wife and I both had the onion soup, which was served extremely hot, as it should be. We shared an escargot, which was nicely presented in mushroom caps. We order prime rib and it was awesome. It came with a salad, potato and veggies. A full dinner that did not cost an arm and a leg. I highly recommend this for a fabulous meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
415 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Decent High-Volume Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

An icon in Vancouver. Long ago was "hip and happenin" but seems a little dated today. You will get a quality steak and baked potato, served by a chatty server. The atmosphere continues to be "rugged-cool." The wine list is limited, but you have the feeling that people aren't coming for "wine and fine" dining, but more just a night out with friends and a decent steak. The sides are uninspiring - just basic accompaniments to that all-important steak. However, for what you get, the value is decent. If you want something special in this line, you will have to go to Ruth's Chris, but you will pay a lot more. All said and done, your meal will be enjoyable, but at this level I think I prefer Longhorn.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad weather but great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I went there with my family last week for lunch before the Easter. Unlucky, it was rain when we arrived. Hostess lead us to the nice table, the server show us the professional service. We oredered soup, steak and burger. Only the coffee need to fine tune a bit. Food and service was great.

Helpful?
Thank Tommy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing