We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best miso soup imaginable”

Kibune Sushi Restaurant
Ranked #1,193 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Lions Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best miso soup imaginable”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went with a large group to Kibune for a memorable and truly delicious meal. The vegetable miso soup for two knocked our socks off. Incredible. They start making it the day before, the flavours are delicate and sophisticated. Big chunks of soft tofu and fresh vegetables give the soup a variety of textures and tastes. Everything we ate was amazing, I don't know how they can make their food taste so good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drummerg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heard great things but...”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I would only go back for drinks, probably not even. The service was painfully slow and the food was almost inedible when it finally arrived. This will go down as the worst sushi place I have ever experienced in Vancouver.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lewp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Sushi”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Friends recommended this place as one of the most original sushi places in Kitsilano. Our expectations were fully met: the variety of fish available is stunning and of very high quality. All of the rolls are delicious and are simply good focusing on key components as opposed to the ubiquitous, philadelphia- , mango- or fried- creations elsewhere.
The intererior is traditionally japanese with tables in niches and a bar, which is highly recommendable to be able to interact with the chefs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManuElAleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the try”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I visit Kibune because one if my Japanese client recommend this one to me and I was not disappointed. This is a very traditional Japanese restaurant and they are good at sashimi, they offer some fish that is hard to find in other Japanese Restaurants. However, the cost is above average if you want so good sashimi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T0asta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place - a real find. ”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Traditional style place with sushi bar and booths. No fussy fusion food - just no nonsense great Japanese style cooking.

The sushi was of a high quality - I've had better but this was just fine for a casual Sunday night with the kids. Was very impressed though with the cooked specials which would be hard to beat even in a fancy izakaya style place. Grilled sablefish (black cod to non-North American readers) melted in your mouth and the suki featured delicious seafood and thick udon in a delicately flavoured broth.

Wasn't that pricy either which surprised me given its enviable location. If we lived in the area it would be a regular haunt for a relaxed eating out experience.




Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kibune Sushi Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kibune Sushi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing