We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place - a real find. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kibune Sushi Restaurant

Kibune Sushi Restaurant
Ranked #1,156 of 3,606 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place - a real find. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Traditional style place with sushi bar and booths. No fussy fusion food - just no nonsense great Japanese style cooking.

The sushi was of a high quality - I've had better but this was just fine for a casual Sunday night with the kids. Was very impressed though with the cooked specials which would be hard to beat even in a fancy izakaya style place. Grilled sablefish (black cod to non-North American readers) melted in your mouth and the suki featured delicious seafood and thick udon in a delicately flavoured broth.

Wasn't that pricy either which surprised me given its enviable location. If we lived in the area it would be a regular haunt for a relaxed eating out experience.




Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh food, friendly service..what more can one ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hubby and I used to come here all the time while we were just dating. Due to some "relocating", we haven't been to Kibune for at least 5 years. The food was every bit as good as I remembered, if not better. Yes, there are those who may say the prices are a bit on the high side, but you really do get what you pay for. Everything is fresh, fresh, fresh...even the little shrimp they use in the sunomono. I love that the salmon sashimi is a bright, deep red colour..not advertised as such, but I wouldn't be surprised if it was wild sockeye salmon from the colour!
Our favourite is the Sushi and Sashimi combo dinner. For $20.50, you get miso soup, shrimp sunomono, gomae, 6 pieces of assorted sashimi (I requested all salmon and they were obliging), prawn & veggie tempura, an assortment of sushi (lost track of how many pieces b/c hubby had some of mine..maybe 6 or 7) and some fresh fruit. Absolutely delicious!
The restaurant looks like a hole in the wall, but you enter into a cozy, well-decorated room that seat probably no more than 40 guests. As noted in other reviews, the location cannot be beat.
Service was friendly and prompt (at least while the restaurant was only half-filled...was a little slower once the seats filled up).
Bottom line: if you're looking for cheap food, go to an AYCE. If you're looking for fresh, authentic, and carefully prepared cuisine, you should definitely try Kibune!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MCcubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Kibune Sushi (Locals Favourite) WORLD Class Sushi Dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have been going to Kibune at Kitsilano Beach for 15+ years.
Everytime I am in Vancouver, I just have to go.
There really are some very good reasons why Kibune have survived
in the tough restaurant business in Vancouver over the years.

Fresh seafood, great informal atmosphere, next to Kits Beach/Yew street
makes me go back over and over. The service is friendly and efficient
no fast food ! However the wait is always worth it.
Check out Mr. Hiro Roll on the menu, I think it is one of the best in the world!
Do make a reservation, try to get one of the tables by the window on Yew Street.
Good luck, sorry to say you wont need it, it is all great !!
Bon appetit.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Seasoned-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

This used to be our favourite sushi restaurant. Unfortunately is just isn't as good as it used to be. Not as fresh. And bones in the salmon. A bit pricey, too. Great service and great location, though.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank finedinerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and unique box combinations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We've been going to Kibune's for years. I've been a regular for 20 years. I've eaten at many different Japanese restaurants and this one is my favourite. The food is excellent and they have some box dinners that include many different foods. My fav is the sushi/sashimi box. You certainly do not leave hungry. Staff are friendly and the place is homey. It's almost across the street from Kitsilano Beach so it's convenient to go for a nice evening stroll before or after a meal. I'd highly recommend Kibune's.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kibune Sushi Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kibune Sushi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing