We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hai, hai hai!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingyo

Kingyo
Ranked #19 of 3,678 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hai, hai hai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Authentic, some of the best sushi ever, limited menu but something for everyone, packed full of hungry eaters from the moment the doors open, reservations a must! Great Japanese / English speakers. Superb flavours and tastes, fast efficient service will knowledgeable staff. Fun too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johngrahamcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    91
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

First time here but was amazed by this restaurant. We are a big family and ordered 16 different dishes such as Tunatataki, Black Cod & Negitora Sushi, Yellowtail, Salmon & tuna Carpaccio, etc. All of them are fresh with fine taste. Will definitely come back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
350 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great restaurant-- we'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a great place and well worth the visit. The food is interesting and tasty..., try the calamari, tuna sashimi appy and the corn appetizer. Everything was really good. The restaurant is well decorated and interesting. Service is good but there is a lot of "yelling"! -- traditional atmosphere I guess. I really recommend this place. It deserves the high ratings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant ever! Including in Japan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Incredible, creative, FLAVORFUL, Japanese tapas! My wife and I went twice in three nights in Vancouver. Our favorites: Tan Tan noodles - a Japanese ramen variation of Chinese Dun Dun noodles, Chicken Kaarage - tender, juicy fried chicken morsels, tuna and avocado carpaccio, and incredible flavored deep fried corn. Even if you don't like Jaoanese food you'll find something great here. To top it of, super Kirin beer of tap and SUPERB service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RKDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant for a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We live in London UK,and this restaurant beats any of the ones we have in London,including the famous ones such as Nobu. We can not fault any of the dishes we ordered,the fish is excellent, and we also ate some dishes for the first time such as horse sashimi, which was so good that we ordered a second dish.
We were taken there by a local friend and apparently you have to book at least 1 week in advance if you want a table on a Friday or Saturday evening.
The price is reasonable also,so lots to like,can not find anything negative, so go and try in yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank toothfairy723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingyo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kingyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing