We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Japan - or almost!”
Review of Kingyo

Kingyo
Ranked #5 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
797 reviews
453 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Just Like Japan - or almost!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Busy, noisy japanese restaurant with range of japanese food.... Good, fresh shashimi. Nice crispy tonkatsu. Is the nearest to a real Japanese restaurant that you'll find in Vancouver... Not expensive. Casual.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    99
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As a native Japanese, I can say the food was authentic.
Like others say, the waitress yelling was a bit annoying but I guess that's part of the ambiance they are after?
One of our orders was wrong, and the waitress apologized profusely several times (which is very Japanese also..) and served us extra dish (salad) for free while we were waiting, which was very tasty as well. The price was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hit or miss food and lot's of screaming”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've visited izakaya restaurants with our kids before, but missed the mark at Kingyo. I have no doubt that the food is authentic, but of the 12 or so dishes we tried, most of them went back barely eaten. The screeching of our waitress was interesting only at first ...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwied_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Exceptional service.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First visit. Decided to try based on reviews, and was not disappointed. We shared a number of dishes -- they were all good. Really enjoyed the tuna carpaccio. The servers were extremely busy, but treated people like they were guests, taking time to explain dishes or engage in conversation. I was very impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fromthewestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Japanese restaurant with delicious food!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Our group ordered 3 donburi style lunches and they were all yummy! One had unagi (eel) and that was very tasty, one had a steak topping and it was very soft and delicious, the third was a slow roasted pork which I thought was the best! Very soft and tender, slightly sweet and very, very tasty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingyo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kingyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing