We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Izakaya Virgins - We'll be back here!!”
Review of Kingyo

Kingyo
Ranked #18 of 3,732 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Izakaya Virgins - We'll be back here!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

OK, we've eaten a lot of Sushi, all over the world - but never Izakaya, or tapas style Japanese food. We walked past Kingyo and the look of the place just drew us right in.

The place was packed - we were greeted with some Japanese shouting when we walked in, which was a lot of fun and even though we didn't have a reservation - they found us a table.

Lots of funky trend-istas we're eating along with a lot of Japanese folk, so it must be good.

We asked for some recommendations, and ordered 4 meals and one side between the two of us. Food arrived at separate times which was great as it all stayed hot and we didn't over face ourselves!!

Can really recommend the slow roasted belly pork and beef tail!!

Go - you won't regret it!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    95
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fun!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having visited Japan a few times, the atmosphere at Kingyo was truly reflective of that you would experience in Japan, with the always alluring happy shouts from both the servers and chefs. I felt most welcome there dining solo, and their sashimi was amazing by North American standards (nothing will ever beat the Tsukiji fish market in Tokyo with melt in your mouth sushi!). The prices were also reasonable and nice fresh Sapporo on tap made this the perfect spot for a memorable lunch.

Having lived in Vancouver in a previous life, if you do visit, you must have the Sushi there as it's (again) some of the best in North America and this is a fantastic spot to taste both food and culture.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Everett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esslinjgen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Why is this rated as one of the Japanese restaurants?”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Well I think my opinion about this place is a bit different from many others. I mean it is ok Japanese food but the menu does not offer too many choices sometimes with a bit strange combinations and the taste is ok but would certainly not have me come back. Also because I think the price tag is quite hefty for what is on the plate. Service was flawless and really nice so was the fish but overall, not my favourite restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank anjaintokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“sooooooo good...but the pressure was on”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I rated this excellent, because of the quality of the food, but one little mark against them was the pressure to finish our meal by a certain time. We had a 7 pm reservation, but misjudged the time it would take to walk to the restaurant. We were 15 min late and told that we had to be gone by 9 pm for another reservation. At 8:30, they announced 'last call' for us to order food. This was a bit bothersome as we had 7 people at dinner and were racking up quite a tab for food and drink. That aside, the meal was amazing - if you like spicy try the 'death noodles'...everyone was pleased with every dish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greekodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Japanese soul food.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

To me Kingyo is as good as therapy. The food is absolutely gourmet, everything is so flavorful! The menus are catchy and the service is top notch. I go once in a while on hot dates and it's so much fun! We tried random items like the Tan Tan noodles - amazing! The stone kobe beef is mouth watering, the ebi mayo is the best in the city in my opinion. So much fun! My only single tiny complaint is they greet everyone that walks through the door - great! But they do it so loudly it can startle you from time to time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SL781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingyo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kingyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing