We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sooooooo good...but the pressure was on”
Review of Kingyo

Kingyo
Ranked #10 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“sooooooo good...but the pressure was on”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I rated this excellent, because of the quality of the food, but one little mark against them was the pressure to finish our meal by a certain time. We had a 7 pm reservation, but misjudged the time it would take to walk to the restaurant. We were 15 min late and told that we had to be gone by 9 pm for another reservation. At 8:30, they announced 'last call' for us to order food. This was a bit bothersome as we had 7 people at dinner and were racking up quite a tab for food and drink. That aside, the meal was amazing - if you like spicy try the 'death noodles'...everyone was pleased with every dish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greekodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    96
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Japanese soul food.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

To me Kingyo is as good as therapy. The food is absolutely gourmet, everything is so flavorful! The menus are catchy and the service is top notch. I go once in a while on hot dates and it's so much fun! We tried random items like the Tan Tan noodles - amazing! The stone kobe beef is mouth watering, the ebi mayo is the best in the city in my opinion. So much fun! My only single tiny complaint is they greet everyone that walks through the door - great! But they do it so loudly it can startle you from time to time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SL781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Too fun!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Izakaya is Japanese tapas, more or less.
Decent sushi, tons of small-plate grilled items, good mixed drinks, very lively atmosphere (lots of young urban hipsters sharing the long tables).
There's something inherently fun about tapas-style dining, and Kingyo was definitely a good time.
I agree with a previous reviewer on the beef ribs recommendation.
I'd go back, if in Vancouver again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrGeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good Izakaya food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having been very fond of Izakaya in Japan for many years, it is now good to be able to enjoy them in Vancouver.

Kingyo does a very good job of recreating the Izakaya experience, with lots of tasty dishes, wonderful service and well designed decor. One of the secret ingredients that they have correct is having a Japanese chef and Japanese waiting staff.

Highly recommended for both Japanese and others wanting to enjoy an authentic Izakaya experience in Vancouver.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValerioRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Japanese small plates!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Thanks Ali from Tour Guys for recommending this to us! Kingyo did not disappoint. Soft shell shrimp were awesome and the grilled duck was perfect. The atmosphere was unique and busy. Lots of fun.

Helpful?
Thank TexBrit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kingyo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kingyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing