We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guu with Garlic

Guu with Garlic
Reserve with OpenTable
Guu with Garlic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Robson Street
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped in at Guu with Garlic on our first night in Vancouver. We expected it to be great, and it was. The atmosphere was wonderfully informal, and the food lived up to our expectations. We ate outside and enjoyed watching street life as we ate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveFallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    59
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loud, rocous, frenetic fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Guu With Garlic is the top dog of the Guu Chain of restaurants. Korean owned, Japanese Izakaya themed, this place is the quintessential Vancouver dining experience.
Yes you should do Tojo's, Vikram's and Pino's excellent offerings but you also need to leave your jacket and little black dress behind, take a taxi and "Do Guu".
The loud, happy greeting you receive is the 1st clue to the magic of this place. The food is tasty, inventive, exciting and delicious. They take your order, shout it over to the kitchen, the kitchen shouts it back, they shout again when it's ready and then you get to scarf it down. Lots of great beers, sake and sochu. everyone is drinking. The gangsters in the corners usually buy jugs for the chefs, who come out and chug it down then go back to work. Once I was there when it was someone's birthday, the entire staff ran out to the table and shrieked the Japanese version of "Happy Birthday" to the shocked guest, then all ran back to their stations.
But back to the food. It is fantastic. As a chef I am never let down. It is always of the highest quality, freshness and taste.
Check it out, have fun leave happy and full.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmmbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you only have one night in Vancouver this is where to go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Pros: Great service, great food, unique atmosphere
Cons: Like all good things you may have to wait for a table.

(Our friends from Toronto returned to this restaurant the next evening it was so good)

Having returned from a Sikh wedding in Vernon I had only one night in Vancouver to enjoy. I did a lot of research on dinner for myself, my travel buddy and our 4 new friends from around the world. With so many great Japanese restaurants on offer it was a difficult task for a newly formed group and my final decision actually came down to the fact that it was raining a lot and this one was closest to our hotel! Thank goodness for that rain as this restaurant is one of the best I have ever eaten in.

Cliff greeted us at the door where I explained we were waiting for 5 more people. This was no problem as the restaurant was bust so we'd have to wait a while anyway. Instead of standing outside we were seated in the covered patio and ordered some jugs of beer and given menus. From this point on I knew we had chosen well.

Guu with Garlic is small and the atmosphere is fun filled and boisterous as the waiters shout orders across the room. We ordered a lot of food all topped with crisp little garlic chips and drank Saki and Beer.

Highlights: Octopus Balls, Tuna Steak, Tuna Carpaccio and good beer.

Our bill for 7 people was $270 which was incredibly low for what we ate and drank!

At Midnight we made to leave as the restaurant was closing but were told we could stay another hour drinking is we liked as long as we ordered before midnight.

For a great dining experience head to Guu with Garlic. You may have to Q but it's worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Save a trip to Japan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

It had been a while since we ate Japanese food. This restaurant is a wonderful place for authentic Japanese cuisine. The food was excellent, waitresses are shouting the order in Japanese so there is no way to check if she understood your request :) ...
Ambiance, food, speed and price could make his restaurant a regular weekly lunch or diner, even daily if you become addicted.
We recommend the fish

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank earthflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were a group of 10 and were given a long table. The tapas-style menu was a good fit for the variety of tastes and the food was excellent - we ended up ordering second for several of the dishes. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guu with Garlic also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Guu with Garlic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing