We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loud but fun izakaya”
Review of Guu with Garlic

Guu with Garlic
Reserve with OpenTable
Guu with Garlic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Robson Street
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“loud but fun izakaya”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I'm a 1st generation Japanese-Taiwanese American but this was my first izakaya experience.

I went with two other izakaya newbies at 8:30pm on Sunday night. After reading some Yelp reviews, I expected it to be loud, but was still a little surprised by it since it was Sunday night. Though the restaurant was packed, there was no one waiting and we were squeezed into some seats at the bar within a few minutes. The loudness was not caused by other patrons but by the waiters and chefs, who were shouting orders at one another in Japanese (or...sometimes, I even suspected, fake Japanese!) every other minute. It did contribute to the overall atmosphere though. The energy level was high. I bet most other places in town were fairly dead on a cold Sunday night.

The menu was interesting. No sushi or sashimi, as in a typical Japanese restaurant. We tried the pizza, beef tataki, tuna tataki, an egg croquette baked with pumpkin, ume soba, chicken wings, and almond tofu, among other things that I can't remember now. Everything was delicious, especially the ume soba. The soba was perfectly chewy, and adding the ume (salted dried plum) flavor was a stroke of genius. The almond tofu was even better than the one my mom used to make, which used to be my gold standard for almond tofu (sorry mom!)

Sitting at the bar was great, since we were able to see all the dishes passing by as they were ordered. My friends live in Vancouver and they definitely plan to go back soon to try some other dishes. I, alas, will have to wait for my next trip up north.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nlgenxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    61
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A bit ga-ga over Gu”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Fun spot. Friendly staff with good service. Food is mediocre but I found a couple of items that I enjoyed. The menu is Korean not Japanese (listed in a few places as a Japanese restuarant). Everything here is very reasonably priced. The place is small and reservations are not accepted for peak times. Go early, go late or prepare to wait. Warning to some: this place is loud.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank x-well-traveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
305 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Ok, a fun place for students and the young crowd”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Restaurant is a little out of e way, in a predominant Asian neighborhood end of Robson and is very Typical of a Japanese izakaya except it's crowd is probably a younger, student or young adult crowd. Food was ok, not great ... I say this because i enjoy japanese food a lot and this is average food if we are in Japan. Not exactly cheap also.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loud, but tasty!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great food, great presentation, great service,
i'd come again for sure (actually tried to go back for lunch, but they are only open for dinners)

it was a bit loud with the waiters yelling greetings, orders, farewell, etc etc. but it's part of the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monchhichipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“At bit ga-ga over Guu”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Fun spot. Friendly staff with good service. Food is mediocre but I found a couple of items that I enjoyed. The menu is Korean not Japanese (listed in a few places as a Japanese restuarant). Everything here is very reasonably priced. The place is small and reservations are not accepted for peak times. Go early, go late or prepare to wait. Warning to some: this place is loud.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank x-well-traveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guu with Garlic also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Guu with Garlic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing