We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More resto-lounge than other izakayas, but still good”
Review of Hapa Izakaya - CLOSED

Hapa Izakaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $53
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Cross street: Nicola Street
Description: Voted "Top Five Izakayas In North America" by Bon Appetit Magazine; topping "Industry and Readers Choice" Georgia Straight awards for Best Japanese in 2012 and Best Izakaya in 2014; and "Best Casual Chain, Silver" by Vancouver Magazine in 2011, 2012, and 2013, Hapa continues to offer a winning combination of Japanese cuisine, fun, and culture, paired with local seasonal and Ocean Wise ™ ingredients.
Calgary
Level Contributor
223 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“More resto-lounge than other izakayas, but still good”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hapa is bigger and has more of a lounge/club feel than the other izakayas in Vancouver, but it's a nice night out. The pretty young servers were friendly and helpful, there's a decent choice of sakes and Japanese beer, and a fun, mostly younger crowd. The food was tasty: ebi mayo, sablefish, a special sashimi from Japan, and the chipotle curry beef stone bowl were all good. Also easy to get a reservation online.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    82
    38
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good looks, ok food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A Japanese restaurant chain we were told to try while in Vancouver.

The setting is very nice. It is trendy modern looking and very welcoming. It seemed to be a place 'to be' after work and it was buzzing with activity. They have a liking for young good looking waiters, both men and women, though that does not always mean good service. In fact, service was a times quite slow and maybe a bit rushed

The food was good without being extraordinary, and maybe a little overpriced. It was certainly not the best Japanese we had during our stay, but it was an enjoyable experience nonetheless.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory_Cornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Sushi is excellent and of a great variety. It had a few things that I had never seen before. I was there with a large group (30+) and they kept the food and drink coming, nary a moment where I was wondering when food would be there next.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank awmonro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely modern sushi place. The selection was plenty and service could be better. It seems we went on a night where there were more servers than chefs as they were backed up and had the servers just on standby. The service was pretty good and accommodate our li'l girl with miso soup with lots of tofu. The decor was great as I love modern style mixed with traditional bamboo and japanese garden feel. The ambiance could be better as the music was a little too loud for my liking. I don't dig the club music when eating a good meal. The overall experience was okay but definitely could have been a better. It beats the long wait at Miku and the prices were reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KidNemesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
297 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Delicous Oriental Tapas & Cocktails”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Joined some friends here for their last night in Vancouver and were not disappointed. After some yummy cocktails to start we shared 6 of the tapas style tasting plates - all were delicious and was just the right amount of food for 4 people. Of course we had to a try desert and shared the soufflé cheesecake with berry sorbet (fantastic) and the crepe cake (apparently pretty good as well). With a couple of glasses of wine the bill came to $138 which was not base for a special night out for 4!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canberrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hapa Izakaya also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing