We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Food was good - would go again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Foundation

The Foundation
Ranked #539 of 3,500 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Main
Vancouver
2 reviews
“Food was good - would go again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was surprised because the location is great, but when inside, it kind of felt like a little hole in the wall restaurant. The food was good and there were lots of options that were interesting and I have even tried to copy at home. I tried the black beans on quinoa with a lime sauce (not even sure if they still have this anymore) but it was delicious and filling! The atmosphere was fun and funky but the service wasn't great. They don't really pay a lot of attention to the tables.

I would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    44
    25
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vegetarians...this is for you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a cute little place with a menu that is based on vegetarian dishes and actually offers a pretty good variety in this food realm.
It is a funky little place with its own unique atmosphere and clientele...fun to visit for something a little different.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not bad, but wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited The Foundation strictly for their famous Nachos that recently received rave reviews in a local paper. Well, I wouldn't exactly rave about them. In fact, I won't even go back for them a second time. Not that they were bad, just not that spectacular, nothing to write home about.
The serving size for two peple was decent enough, as was the price. The problem was the fact that they were overcooked and consequently very dry. There was hardly any cheese, therefore they were not ooey-gooey as Nachos should be. There were no jalapenos that we could find yet they were spicey just the same. We figured out that they most likely used a liquid spice, adding it during the building process. The plate was smothered in black beans, which is not necessarily a bad thing but they were probably there to disguise the fact of very little cheese...beans are a cheaper fill. The worst part of the dish was the freezing cold salsa. It would have been great salsa, loaded with corn, but it was so cold you could hardly touch the little metal dish it was served in. There was an extra charge for the guacamole so we declined.
The dried up chips and cold salsa coupled with the fact that the restaurant itself was absolutely freezing (we ate with coats and scarves on) did not make for an enjoyable experience.
So, if you go, wear something extra warm and ask them to heat up the salsa. That's if you can ever get ahold of a server.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank molley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great nachos and slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I recently went here with some buddies for beers and nachos. The nachos were great, but the service when it came to getting beer refills was not. The servers are all a little slow but from what I have been told that has been expected here.

The atmosphere is cool and unique and you can actually see ovens where the food comes from.

Helpful?
Thank jeffsumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food OK but staff was indifferent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We went to this place because it was recommended on our travel guide amongst the vegetarian/vegan options in Vancouver. The place itself is cool, the food was OK and there were a few interesting dishes to choose from, as well as local beers. The only thing that was truly disappointing was the service: no communication, we didn't feel welcome and no warmth. The two waiters that day were busy trying more to look cool than being friendly or caring. One guy who walked in after us was given the menu and left standing at the door without a word. Yeah, be yourself, that's their motto...

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goona14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foundation also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing