We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Patio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Havana Restaurant

Havana Restaurant
Ranked #322 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Commercial Drive
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were 3 ladies and the wait for a table at lunchtime on the patio was only a few min. Our server was prompt and efficient.
We started with Mojitos - which were on special at $7 each.
We had 2 orders of Tuna Tacos - which I was reluctant to try, as the Tuna is "ceviche" style. I put on some hot sauce and they were absolutely scrumptious! You get 2 large tacos on your plate. I was only going to eat 1 & box the other. But enjoyed it so much, forgot about the box and ate the second one too.
The other person had the Salmon Salad which had a large thick broiled piece of salmon on top of mixed lettuce. I tasted it and the dressing was perfect.
The music is fun, Cuban Salsa-style and not too loud.
It was a perfect day as the weather was sunny and 25c. Who could ask for more?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    74
    34
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Worst service ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

As I said...worst service ever. We were seated right away, and then ignored by a couple of waitresses who avoided eye contact, as well as our pleas for some attention.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“First time really enjoyed our experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel over by English Bay visiting our son in Vancouver. When we decided to go out for dinner, our son wanted us to try Havanas, I would have preferred going to a restaurant closer to our hotel. He finally convinced us to try Havana's. What a surprise. It was great, such a neat place. The service was excellent, the food was great! I had the Paella it was so good! I loved it. My son had the roasted chicken wrapped with Bacon and crab, he said it was great. My wife had the crab tacos with we're amazing. So glad we tried this place out. Looking forward to going back. Would highly recommend this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good location, good food, helpful staff and (surprisingly to some) kid friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Havanas is always busy and doubly so in the good weather, prepare to put your name down for a table and wait If you can swing an outside table then you can enjoy the sun and people watching while eating some very decent food.

Turtle Bean Chili and Rice, Ropa Veija, Cuban Sandwich and the Drive burger are all very good. Beer selection is good. Jerk Chicken Wrap a favorite as is Beer Battered Grilled Cheese.

The help here is very friendly and they make families (even those families with melting down & hyper active kids) welcome and do their best to accommodate children's tastes.

Have been here several times and not had a bad experience.

PS - parking is a pain in the @ss around the drive, so take a bus or bike there if you can.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank koolkookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hoppin' place with a great vibe and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were told that Havana was one of the most popular restaurants on funky Commercial Drive and that we would probably have to wait in line for a table. We went really early (5:45ish) and were able to get seated right away -- but this place was packed and never let up for the next 90 minutes. It's not that big of a place; as others have noted, there is probably as much sidewalk/outside seating as there is indoor seating. Outdoor seating is on a raised platform off the sidewalk with overhead heaters. Don't hesitate to sit indoors, though. There are huge windows and the sunlight streams straight through into the dining room.
The wait staff and service was really very good, considering how busy they were, very friendly and attentive. We ordered an "original" mojito, a local beer and and order of salsa, guacamole and house made tortilla chips as a starter -- and all are good bets! These are not typical tortilla chips -- much thicker -- more like a pita chip. We were told they are well -known for their truffle fries (which we'll try on our next visit.) Our beet salad, Cuban sandwich and coleslaw were all winners as well. Overall, a fun atmosphere, excellent service and really tasty food...what's not to like? Our only criticism is the tiny tables they seat two people at; luckily we had a wall on one side of us, otherwise they pack you in pretty tight. We'd definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CandyceW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Havana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing