We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice brunch place”
Review of Havana Restaurant

Havana Restaurant
Ranked #254 of 3,730 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Commercial Drive
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice brunch place”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Cuban fare although the menu now includes Bennys and eggs, tapas, salads, mains, sandwiches. And, of course, one can get a latté. What attracts us to this restaurant—and why we go there from time to time--are the dishes not found anywhere else. The Latin Breakfast, one of the traditional Havana classics, comes to mind. It is a scramble of rice, egg, beans, salsa, etc. on a tortilla. One of us, the almost vegetarian half of this couple, always seems to order this dish. However the other eater has moved around the menu a bit and most recently has latched onto the Chef’s Scramble. Everything is moderately priced and there is outside seating. Havana is busy on the weekend, which is when we have normally been on Commercial Drive.

What also stands out about this restaurant are the unique wall scratchings, consisting of many, many names scratched into the plaster. In a backroom of the place there is often a display of some type of art work for sale.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    81
    35
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and great fun!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After a hefty bbq meal from a well known food place nearby, something possesed us to continue the night with cocktails. My husband and I sat at the bar working our way through the list whilst bar staff chatted away with us.

Over the course of the night this place got busy and buzzy with a young but laid back crowd. Havana has a fun vibe and even better prices! A great place to have a drink if you're staying in the Commercial Drive area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Majorlook_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hip and tasty”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

One of vancouver's most popular and reliable restaurants. It is usually very busy but not always a lineup. Food is great but a bit pricey for cafe style dining. Still it is always good with good service and a hip vibe gong on day or night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huff41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Mojitos, Patio, and throw in a Theatre for good measure!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

No summer is complete without sharing pitchers of Mojitos on the patio at Havana- but don't worry if you missed out, they have heat lamps and an awning, and the inside is great too. The food is always good. I have been many times so this review is based on a combination of experiences. I started going years ago but recently I have started appreciating the theatre space behind the restaurant. They have shows 5 nights a week and it is really enjoyable to stop in for a meal or a drink and be like "hey that show looks good, let's check it out!"

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Em F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Sangria and Food and Great Staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Havana for my birthday celebration after we watched a great show in New York. I found the staff to be wonderful, very attentive to our needs. The food was very good. The sangria was pricey but amazing worth to try at least once in your life time. The atmosphere is great, they were singing happy birthday to several people and everyone seem so excited when they would hear them sing, very upbeat atmosphere and very well decorated. I would return there again to try their selections of amazing food. We had the three tier sampler and it was so extremely good. I wanted to order more to take home. The staff was very attentive from the time we came in to the time we left. I loved it!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvtorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Havana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing