We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House On Dunbar B&B
Ranked #20 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet Location”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary trip to Vancouver. The house was really beautiful both inside and out, our room was nice and quiet and came with a cat that liked to use our open window for ingress and egress.

The breakfasts were amazing!!! The owner is a fabulous cook and my wife was a huge fan of her use of the "Vitamix".

It was reasonably priced and really our only complaint was that there was no turn-down service; part of the reason you pay more for a B&B is that you get the experience of having a quasi-hotel stay and not having to make your own bed.

Overall though, it was a very enjoyable stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nin137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
43
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolfsburg, Niedersachsen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our stay was really beautifull. The rooms were excellent, the breakfast superb, but the friendliness and the helpfulness of Joanne isnt't to surpass. By the way you can walk by foot to downtown in a short time and the house is in a very calm neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've had a really good time at the House On Dunbar B&B. A comfy bed, great bathroom and such a good breakfast in the morning with the other guests. Joanna is a lovely host, she has been super helpfull to us and from the house we were at the airport pretty quick by cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marylou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights, me my husband and my daughter 15een. It Was really a great place. Very good hospitality: excellent breakfast, nice room, silence never experienced so complete before, lovely neighborhood. Highly suggested. The only flaw was that the third bed was an inflatable mattress, but it was quite confortable the same. The website tells the truth. Joanne gives you all the right advise to visit Vancouver. The area it si easy to reach by bus. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank giuditta a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very quiet, great for transport and close to outdoor walks in pacific spirit park. I was at the university and the location is very close by bus. A couple of good restaurants close by. Breakfast unbelievably good and varied. Generous room size, comfortable bed and good bathroom. Wi Fi very reliable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week visit to Vancouver from the UK, and had a superb stay at House on Dunbar. Location was great - close to where our son was living, central for sightseeing, and it was easy to access public transport from there. Joanne was a great host - we had a very comfortable room (UBC room) with lots of helpful extras (robes, slippers, toiletries, hairdryer etc) and the communal guest area consisting of lounge, dinning area and well-equipped kitchen, meant we could cook ourselves a meal in the evening as an alternative to dining out. There was also a charming back garden we could enjoy, and the great company of other guests as well as Joanne and her family, ensured we had a wonderful time. Quiet and safe neighbourhood - whenever we were in the city, we thanked goodness we had picked here to stay. Joanne's culinary expertise in producing delicious, healthy breakfasts each morning, ensured every day started with a treat. We really appreciated the hospitality and friendliness, and everything Joanne did to make us feel entirely welcome. We would not hesitate to recommend House on Dunbar - not like a B & B, but more like staying at a friend's. Thank you so much Joanne!

Room Tip: The UBC room in the basement with its own en suite facilities was ideal as it stayed cool during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Never having visited Canada before we were slightly apprehensive as to what we would find, but beginning our holiday at 'House on Dunbar' was the greatest start to our holiday. Joanne is a delightful host and did everything in her power to make us so very welcome. Our room was spotless and we were provided many useful extras in the bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious and Joanne easily took into account my husband's dietary issues. The guests lounge area is great and we had many nights of joviality with our fellow travellers. It was just a short walk to the bus into Vancouver city centre and Joanne was extremely helpful in recommending things to see and do. All in all this is a wonderful B&B and Joanne is a lady who can't do enough to make you welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moppit-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
402 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,165 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,113 reviews
University Land Endowments
Gage Residence at UBC
Gage Residence at UBC
#66 of 92 in Vancouver
96 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House On Dunbar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House On Dunbar B&B

Property: House On Dunbar B&B
Address: 3926 20th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6S 1G4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West Point Grey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — House On Dunbar B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House On Dunbar B and B is a spacious, contemporary and comfortable B & B that offers guests the warmth and comforts of home and provides an ideal home base to explore all Vancouver has to offer. We provide everything you want and more...indulge yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your House On Dunbar B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing