We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sophisticated Indian food; cozy atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akbar's Own Dining Lounge

Akbar's Own Dining Lounge
Ranked #538 of 3,606 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Granville
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
785 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Indian food; cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Last night four of us shared four mains with rice and naan - everything was done really well. Lamb Korma, Prawns with Spinach, Alu Gobi - all excellent. We also had Butter Chicken which everyone liked very much but I found a bit too tomatoey. For the quality of food the prices are reasonable. The restaurant has a nice cozy atmosphere, unusual but welcome, for an Indian restaurant; and the tables are not too close together which is nice these days. While the service was very friendly and attentive at times, I found it a bit slow and noticed other tables were also left on there own for long periods of time; they could benefit from an additional wait staff. However, a very enjoyable evening with excellent, sophisticated Indian Food - I would certainly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

1905 West Broadway, 5 minutes from downtown . If you like Indian food you must dine here. The appetizers are a great start,eg. Mixed platter, Tandoori breads ( Naan ) with a side of chutney trio . The Butter chicken and chicken coconut are very good . Inexpensive for the great food

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Potse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of Our Favourites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

In terms of flavour and price, it's one of Vancouver's best kept secrets. Service is generally good, although they've had "off" nights. Food is flavourfood and if you ask for spicy, tastes quite authentic. My only complaint is that they bring out the papadams unless you specifically order them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have been going to Akbar's for many years and recently visited. When I called to make a reservation, I was told that no reservations were accepted, however, when I arrived, I was asked if I had made a reservation! I was not the only person who experienced this service, as I overheard several other people make the same comment.

Service with Sandy and Song used to be outstanding and with them gone, Akbar's does not have the same friendly atmosphere. The food was fine, but the recipes have changed from the previous owners, which I much preferred.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mgatesdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Indian food, west broadway's greatest secret”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

When city's always ask which restaurant has the greatest food... there is always a top 5 selection. Often these selections may be what's the trendiest restaurant, or which has lineup or is the best value... well Akbars is the tastiest, and is one of those secrets that only locals know about... and don't want to share lest it get overrun and people have to wait to get a table. The food here is always consistent: great butter chicken, lamb biryani, eggplant bharta, and an excellent razmali dessert... I've tried many dishes on the menu and have never been disappointed. Full of flavour, nicely seasoned, try it for yourself, just please don't recommend it too heavily... keep it a secret for locals to enjoy!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar's Own Dining Lounge also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Akbar's Own Dining Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing