We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akbar's Own Dining Lounge

Akbar's Own Dining Lounge
Ranked #540 of 3,507 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Granville
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Arrived without a reservation and was seated without any delay. The restaurant was not full on a Saturday night. Had the Chicken Tikka Masala and Butter Chicken with a side order of rice and naan. Overall the dinner was very good. The portions are not huge but it is enough for 2 people and is reasonably priced. The decor of the restaurant is very nice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food - cozy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Akbar's Own was walking distance form our B&B and was recommended by its owner. We loved it so much we came twice during our 6 night stay. My wife had the Vegetable Korma and I had the Chicken Tikka and Butter Chicken and we had the vegetable and chicken Pakora. The atmosphere was cozy and the service was attentive. When we return to Vancouver, we'll be sure to go to Akbar's Own for another meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tx_design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
401 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“Why Wait in Line @ Vij's when You can Reserve @ Akbar's!?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Always a wonderful meal @ Akbar's continuing even with the new ownership. Mind you, I think that it was a touch better under the old management, but still an excellent experience all around. I don't know why anyone would wait in line for an hour to be seated at Vij's, when a table is always available for an advanced reservation at Akbar's Own?!?

The staff are pleasant, helpful and accommodating: always happy to individually tailor each dish to one's preferential level of spice and tastes. Although Maurya has the superior dining atmosphere, the food, quality and pricing are far superior here, albeit more casual.

Be sure to try the Lamb Vindaloo and the Fish Goa Curry as they are exceptional!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dalecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Solid North Indian food in a quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We just had a very nice experience at this restaurant. On entering we've been welcomed very warmly and even though we didn't have a reservation where promptly seated. The place was quite full, so we considered ourselves lucky.

The atmosphere is very quiet and the place is almost a bit too darkly lit. Service was very friendly and carried out in a very distinguished manner.

We opted for Mango Lassi to drink and it was by far one of the best we ever had. For entrees we ordered Lamb Sag and Chicken Tikka Tandoori. Both dishes were good to almost very good and really mild (although we asked for medium spiciness). The spinach in the Lamb Sag was pureed and we expected it to be a bit more natural. The chicken in the Tandoori was very well prepared and juicily, but I still would have liked some kind of light sauce with it. Maybe I should have ordered some yogurt sauce with it.

We finished with a Mango Ice Cream to share which was quite a big portion and good as well. All in all the portions were not on the massive side, but still we were not able to eat it all, taking some of the food home with us for the next day.

Not the best Indian restaurant we experienced so far, but a really good one and we probably will go there again.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank megaposer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
“Indian pure”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We just had take away, so I can't comment the Restaurant itself, but the food was a disappointment. The spinach lamb was a salty and tasteless pure without any texture. The nan was good and service fast. Maybe they just had an unlucky day.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nskotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar's Own Dining Lounge also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Akbar's Own Dining Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing