We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST Try!”

Afghan Horsemen Restaurant
Ranked #285 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Granville Island & Fairview
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A MUST Try!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Afghani food? well, we were visiting Vancouver - staying at the Granville Island hotel... saw this place and all the awards it has won, so we tried it... VERY happy we did!!! We shared a platter, and it was amazing!!! The lamb shoulder was the BEST lamb we have ever had - excellent!!!

We tried a few other specialty items like some of their drinks... some were amazing, one was so so... gf didn't care for the one... BUT the waiter was awesome... he brought out a sample of that drink saying it's an acquired taste which was extremely nice of the waiter (personally I liked it,,)

It's one of those places that you need to visit at least once - and I suspect you will then return again...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    71
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
Level Contributor
219 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and great ambience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fantastic Afghani cuisine is served at this restaurant. The waitress who served us was very friendly, There is Belly dancing on weekends which was a great entertainment. We were are group of 14 and were seated on the floor cusion seating which was so comfortable and relaxing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YaShaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonuineill
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Afghani”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We've eaten here a few times over the years and it never disappoints. Very busy at weekends so worth booking. Food is traditional Afghan with the best grilled lamb I've ever had and some great veggie choices - my partner had a Veggie Lovers plate with kabeli rice, cheese ravioli and other bits he loved. We were there on a Friday night and also got to experience the belly dancer (who was very good compared to some I've seen). Great food and friendly service

Helpful?
Thank simonuineill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best middle eastern food in Vancouver”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food. Service a bit slow but food well worth it. Belly dancer was great. Make a reservation to get the pillow room. Or one of the private booths for a more intimate and special evening.

Helpful?
Thank Rae Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
181 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good service, plentiful and tasty food. The belly dancer turn was brief and she expected a tip but it was fun.
Food excellent, Sean a great waiter.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afghan Horsemen Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Afghan Horsemen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing