We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow excellent modern cuisine”

West Restaurant + Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
West Restaurant + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #232 of 3,707 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $37
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Granville
Cross street: 13th St.
Description: Recognized as the 'jewel in Vancouver's culinary crown', West Restaurant's outstanding contemporary regional cuisine and seamless service has earned much critical acclaim. Pristine seasonal ingredients are sourced to deliver superbly conceived dishes offering modern interpretations of classics. For those keen to observe 'behind the scenes' action and experience West from a unique perspective, the two 'chef's tables' can be found directly adjacent to the presentation kitchen. One of the highlights of the dining room is a temperature-controlled wall of wine, and under it, the long cherry wood bar that gracefully anchors the conversation-where martinis and cocktails are composed of fresh herbs, juices and creative infusions. A Werner Forster installation floats under the ceiling-a study of light and motion. The leather chairs are the Mario Bellini designed originals found at MOMA, surrounding etched stone tabletops, highlighting a handsome and inviting room that speaks to contemporary Vancouver.
Juan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow excellent modern cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was great, nice small romantic funky place, with excellent food and wine list. Modern chic interior, young staff who were trained at service. A great English waiter from Somerset was very charming and helpful. More expensive but worth every penny for a great meal out

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    66
    34
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The service was perfect, with wait staff being attentive but not hovering. The food and drinks were ridiculously fresh, delicious, and appealingly arranged. I would love to eat here again, wallet permitting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaEofDoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michaels, MD,US
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oyster Offerings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very attractive interior. A bit of an oasis in busy part of the city. Great personal service. Oyster selection was excellent. Pricey but worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cel410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for a group and for gluten-free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a large family dinner here (13 of us), and were extremely pleased with the experience. The service was excellent, especially with such a large number of people and the food was exceptional, from the special spring pea soup through the delicious fish and seafood to the rhubarb dessert. Of special note was the knowledgeable service for the one gluten free diner (with celiac disease so care is needed). The special gluten free bread was much better and more interesting than most, and the menu items with gluten were readily identified and appropriately modified. Great dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisZ556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“This is one great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was celebrating my 70th - my daughter and her husband took us out to West - this is one awesome place - okay, I could be cynical and say the place was so wonderful because they knew it was my b-day but I would like to think it is always that way. I have dined at some good restaurants, Maxims in Paris even, but this rates away up there. The service was phenomenal - James and his crew were the best - and the food was hot, delicious and expertly presented. From start to end, right to the hostess wishing me HB on my departure, I cannot offer enough kudos - and I am truly picky and a major complainer if things are not good - there was NO cause to grumble - NONE!! It is not cheap but worth every penny

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Restaurant + Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to West Restaurant + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing