We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“West shines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Restaurant + Bar

West Restaurant + Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
West Restaurant + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #229 of 3,507 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Canadian, Gluten Free Options, Seafood, European, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Granville
Cross street: 13th St.
Description: Recognized as the 'jewel in Vancouver's culinary crown', West Restaurant's outstanding contemporary regional cuisine and seamless service has earned much critical acclaim. Pristine seasonal ingredients are sourced to deliver superbly conceived dishes offering modern interpretations of classics. For those keen to observe 'behind the scenes' action and experience West from a unique perspective, the two 'chef's tables' can be found directly adjacent to the presentation kitchen. One of the highlights of the dining room is a temperature-controlled wall of wine, and under it, the long cherry wood bar that gracefully anchors the conversation-where martinis and cocktails are composed of fresh herbs, juices and creative infusions. A Werner Forster installation floats under the ceiling-a study of light and motion. The leather chairs are the Mario Bellini designed originals found at MOMA, surrounding etched stone tabletops, highlighting a handsome and inviting room that speaks to contemporary Vancouver.
vancouver
Level Contributor
250 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“West shines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Chef Quang Dang, is out standing! the entire team, kitchen, wait staff, everyone put on a fabulous event. We have always been impressed by Quang's cooking , it is one thing to cook for 2 or 6, but 64 amazing. Food was served quickly for the group, slight delays obviously but quick.
Courses were tasty, beautifully plated and the correct size. really a top level effort.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willbikeforwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    59
    31
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expensive but good work in the kitchen and plating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Look, there are those who probably demand a dining experience like this most days. I would go broke buying dinner for two with a modestly priced bottle of wine and a 20 percent tip more than once in a while ($300). But there is little I would criticize when it comes to the food beyond its wildly huge markup. Fresh BC halibut and sable fish were expertly prepared. First courses of heirloom tomato and beet salads were generous (at approximately $15-20 dollars they should be). But everyone should try West once. Unless of course you don't care about the bill. Then simply enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gone911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cocktails are out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Don't come here first because everywhere else will leave you a little disappointed. Vancouver has excellent restaurants and wonderful drinks, but it is hard to beat David's specialties. Words cannot explain it, so you will have to experience it for yourself. Don't miss this amazing restaurant when in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmmartin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Proper Grown-up Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It was our anniversary and my partner and I wanted to go somewhere special. Most of the time I enjoy noisy places where you might have to shout to make yourself heard, or places with long queues where you feel duty-bound to eat and run, but this was a celebration and we wanted a restaurant we would be comfortable in over several hours. West Restaurant and Bar is quiet - but never uptight, decorated in a style that is modern - but not trendy, and the food is really good. We had halibut with a drizzle of currant sauce, and strawberry and lemon tart. Each dish was well-prepared and very well presented. A really good choice for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VancouverViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“excellent cuisine and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

had dinner at West a week ago with friends visiting from Toronto. choice was Bluewater Cafe and West. had had a mediocre experience with Bluewater and had to convince friends that West was the place to go ( had been here before ).
Phew!! the pressure was on us for talking our friends coming here ---and West delivered magnificently!!
i had the special halibut ( cooked to perfection ). my son had the rack of lamd while the other dishes ordered were the lincod special on the menu.
had a long conversation with the mixologist specialist ( who had just won an international award for his signature drink ---delicious ). interesting to learn of the intricate processes involved with making the ingredients of his cocktails ( more like a chemistry lab. experiiment ).
of special note for me was the octopus chorizo ( huh?? ) which was outstanding.
in summary ---if you want a seafood dinner of note in Vancouver --this place has not let us down yet! it delivers food wise and service wise too --impeccable!
keep it up and i will back for more when i am in town next ( we are from North Carolina ).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Restaurant + Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to West Restaurant + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing